We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUCK!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant
1002 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32303-6145
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Delivery
Description: WE HAVE CLOSED :-(
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“YUCK!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I used to go here all the time when I was in college and liked it. It was cheap and the margaritas were good. Since graduating I have tried them twice...both times found roaches crawling on the wall near me. The food has gone downhill and you can tell they truly only cater to college students. The fact that 2 times in one month I saw roaches crawling on the wall downstairs..I will NEVER be back

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    4
    1
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Go here for some great Mexican food. My husband and I love it!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great authenitc Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We go to Tapatio for lunch often. I can't comment on dinner, but everything we've had has been terrific. Taco salads, enchiladas, tacos, burritos--I think we've eaten everything. The drinks are REAL. LOL. Watch yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The BEST Mexican food in Tallahassee, bar none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

All male waiters, Our Lady of Guadalupe on the wall, fantastic cheap meals, cheap delicious margaritas, this place will forever be near and dear to my wife's heart and mine as a our FAVORITE place to go consistently for a meal under $25 for two. After the first few times going there and testing the menu we never deviated from our two favorite dishes: the chimichanga (#51 on the menu) for her and La Favorita (#36) for myself. Wonderful flavor and no digestive issues EVER is you know what I mean. The margaritas are virtually always two for one and always pack a decent punch. Has the family run feel to it (don't know if it is) and is always clean. This became our weekly Wednesday date night place. Forget El Jalisco's, this is the place to become a regular at in Tallahassee if you like Mexican food. Can't tell you how much we miss it since leaving the area.

  • Visited June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A-Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

A fine place to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.