We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Horrible".” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Hotel Surfside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Beach Hotel Surfside to your Saves list
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9449 Collins Avenue, Surfside, FL 33154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor - 17% Savings
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Surfside
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Horrible".”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Bad location the hotel is still undergoing construction so traffic and noise are unbearable. The rooms are very average not has luxury as one would think for the price paid. The food may have been the only thing that was nice. The beach was less then satisfactory poor service was provided, I felt as if I was not being attended too at all some did not speak English so its hard to have an order taken.I would have rather stayed some were else.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear clark153, Thank you for taking time out of your day to give us your opinion on your most recent stay with us. We are sorry that your stay was not to your satisfaction and that we could not come up to your expectations. We can assure you that our aim is to ensure that every one of our guests has a fantastic experience and are truly sorry that we have failed in meeting even the most basic of your vacation expectations. In particular, the service you experienced seems well off of our normal levels of engagement and professionalism. We appreciate your time and valued observations, as they help us indicate areas of the hotel which require improvement. We do apologize for the inconvenience you were caused by the construction work being done onsite. Given that some of the issues you experienced are temporary and should be eliminated in the near future, we hope that you will be willing to give us a second chance and will pay us a visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    146
    40
    19
    29
See reviews for
209
174
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I had a fabulous experience at the hotel. The lobby was clean as clean can be! Our room was as promised...modern and very clean. Our daughter and her boyfriend had a larger room on the 10th floor that was spectacular over looking Miami beach. Both our breakfast and dinner was very good in all aspects. The service was great and without any issues. Our daughter is gluten free, the kitchen manager and head chef came to the table to address any concerns she had and went through the food preparation process to ensure zero cross contamination of her meal. All the food was excellent and the portions where just right. The rooftop bar and pool were awesome. Kel makes a an awesome Mojito! I know will would go back at our next stop in Miami.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Eric A, thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside. We are very pleased with your kind feedback and the five-star rating you have given our hotel. It is delightful to read that we were able to take good care of you and that our team looked after all your needs in a friendly and efficient manner. Thank you for the positive feedback on our room accommodations; it is great they have delivered everything you expected. We are also pleased our restaurant manager and chef paid special attention to your daughter’s specific needs and diet. It has been our pleasure to serve you and we cannot wait to welcome you back on your return visit to property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

You will find here a good price-value hotel. Very good location: Collins in the beach side, 200 mts from Bal Harbour shops, 2 min from Harding Ave. with a lot of shops to have dinner/lunch. Near a Kosherland for people who follow Kosher rules.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear HernanHak, we appreciate you for taking the time to write a review of the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside and for deciding to give us the top traveler rating possible. We could not be happier to read that we have managed to live up to the expectations set by our slogan- affordable luxury, by extending a good value for money ratio in the duration of your stay. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the hotel’s location, which is not only oceanfront, with direct beach access, but also is walking distance away from shopping and dining options. Now that you have experienced and enjoyed what the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside has to offer, we would like to invite you to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

From the huge entrance area to the spectacular top floor pool this hotel is amazing. Our ocean
front room was great.The top floor has a pool and a bar in a huge very stylish area.
We loved the the fact that no children are allowed up there,they have their pool on the ground floor.Great staff,our only faults were in the restaurant.The simple things on the menu were good but any thing complicated was not so good,however there are plenty of good restaurants nearby.
Although we live in London we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear LondonWoody, thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside. We are thrilled with the five star rating you have given our hotel as a result of your experience on property. It is with pleasure that we learn of your satisfaction with the amenities and services we offer at the hotel as a whole- the rooftop adults only pool and direct beach access from hotel premises in particular. Thank you for commenting so positively of your oceanfront suite; we are happy it met your needs during your stay. We appreciate your feedback of the restaurant experience you had; it is comments such as yours that help us improve and reach higher quality standards. We will forward your thoughts to our food and beverage department. We could not agree more with you when it comes to the area immediately surrounding the hotel; it truly is great with all of the dining and shopping options it extends within walking distance. We are flattered by your intent to visit us again in the future. It will be our pleasure to serve you on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a beautiful building in a great location, but when we visited, the management and staff acted like they had been open 4 days, not 4 months. Housekeeping would promise you anything, but rarely delivered. Management would not honor the confirmed reservation and rate (through Travelocity) of companions who selected the hotel as the base for their wedding. Balcony partitions were not in place (4 months after opening). One of the televisions in my room had never been hooked up and we needed to call for a coffee pot. We asked for our room to be made up at 10:00 and were assured it would be, only to have them show up to do it at 3:30 when we were entertaining. It seems clear that both the management and staff were not properly trained for the high end hotel industry. Just about everyone should be replaced and perhaps it would be a good venue. Things may have improved since March 1, but I doubt it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear JimP32778, thank you for taking the time to express your concerns and share your honest feedback from your stay with us at the beginning of March this year. We would like to start off by apologizing for all inconveniences you were caused in the duration of your stay. At the Grand Beach Hotel Susrfside, we are committed to the provision of excellent customer service and high standard amenities. In this sense, we would like to extend our apology if the services and amenities delivered to you were anything less than that. We can advise you with certainty that the hotel has seen quite the progress since your visit at the beginning of March. It is our pleasure to inform you that all balcony dividers have been successfully installed. Furthermore, as we are getting closer to the completion of all construction work at the hotel, more and more of our time and efforts are focused on the continuous training of staff and the elimination of guest concerns, which have been expressed at one point or another in the form of reviews. It is our genuine hope that you will be willing to give our property another chance in the future. We are sure in our capability of providing you with a pleasant, satisfactory, and memorable experience and would appreciate the opportunity to gain back your trust. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I was very concerned by the other online reviews. You should not be. The property and service were wonderful. The location is perfect if you want to relax. If you want the action of South Beach, it is not a great location. We recently stayed for 5 nights. The rooms were large and perfectly accommodated our family of 5. The food and service were wonderful. You are directly on the beach with access to a wonderful exercise trail which we used for both running and biking. (You can rent bikes at the Publix which is one block away!) This was very convenient to get beverages, snacks,etc that we wanted for in the room. You are just blocks away from wonderful shopping and restaurants. The pool area and beach were exactly what we hoped for. We did not hear one bit of construction noise during our stay. The only negative I would have is that the property is still not finished. Their online profile is misleading. It says there is shopping and a spa on site. This is not true. Other reviewers said they were offered wine/fruit and discounts because of this. I was not even offered an apology. For over $600 a night, I expected the property to be in tact. I think there should be some accommodation for the lack of completeness. There were door handles missing from public restrooms, etc. However, overall it was fabulous. I would definitely recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Double room suites are perfect for families with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear TrackMomof3, we are glad you took the time to review our property as a result of your recent stay with us. We would like to thank you for the kind and detailed outline of your experience with us, as it will be helpful for other travelers considering staying with us. We are really pleased that we could make your time with us as relaxing as possible and we could offer the comfort you and your family deserve. Thank you for pointing out the variety of activities and shopping guests of the hotel may enjoy in the area immediately surrounding the hotel. As we have mentioned before and you have affirmed to in your review, the main construction of the Annex building across the street is in its final phase, thus construction noise should be less and less of a bother in the future. We apologize, if you felt mislead in any way after reviewing our website. In order to avoid this, besides listing the full list of amenities guests may enjoy at the hotel, we have included the date or month, when the unfinished amenities are scheduled to open. It is our hope that you would accept our apologies and that you will visit us again in the future, when you will be able to enjoy all facilities the hotel has planned to offer guests. We sincerely appreciate the recommendation you are willing to extend to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is the best holiday in years !, thanks to the hotel !.
Incredible accommodation, friendly and helpful staff.
The hotel is in a very nice and quiet neighborhood: Surfside.
Beautiful, spacious rooms. We had an oceanfront room with a breathtaking view .
Breakfast, restaurant and snacks were super tasty.
This was our first trip to the U.S., we will be back!
This is definitely one of the nicest and best hotels we've seen in years !

Room Tip: De OceanFront kamers zijn een aanrader, adembenemd zicht !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Didier S, we are glad you took the time to review our property as a result of your recent stay with us. We are happy your visit has been satisfying and you have enjoyed our facilities. We look forward to your next visit to our property and appreciate your business and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Beach Hotel Surfside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel Surfside

Address: 9449 Collins Avenue, Surfside, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Surfside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Surfside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Beach Hotel Surfside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel Surfside where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel Surfside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.