We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9576 Collins Ave, Surfside, FL 33154   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Surfside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very Good, great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is simple, like a guest house. It doesn't have any room services, but it has bigger advantages. First the staff, Luis and Vanessa are great and will make your stay very pleasant.We had a problem with the credit card and they made us feel very welcome and secure that the problem was going to be solved. The rooms are huge and I think this is the only miami beach hotel that doesn't charge you for parking, internet and any packages you may receive. Overall great stay, would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    37
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
132
82
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel is really clean and I and my wife loved the atmosphere. The suite feels like home with a nice bedroom, living room and a small kitchen with everything you need.The beach is just across the street and you can take an umbrella, chairs or towels from the hotel to the beach. Luis who is the manager at the hotel is very friendly and always ready to help.We also had the best espresso coffee at the hotel.Also the location is very good because right behind the hotel you can find anything you need like good restaurants,stores,banks,cafes and many more interesting places.There is a nice outdoor pool for lots of fun as well.
We are very happy for staying at such a nice hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poprad
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The hotel is really great. It's close to a busy street but there is no noise from the street neither in the room nor in the pool. The rooms and pool are clean and the staff is very nice and helpful. The pool with jaccuzy is heated so even if you can't swim in the ocean, you can relax in the pool. The rooms are big enough for 4 adults, we were 3 adults in a one bedroom suite. In the room is fully equipped kitchen with fridge, owen, and dishwasher.

Room Tip: nr. 11 or 18 are quite and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Picked this hotel based on reviews and TA and I am happy I did. Spent 3 nights in this hotel recently.

Rooms (2 bed suite) was very clean and spacious. The pool is lovely with a great seating area - like an oasis just off the main street. Good facilities in the kitchen and bathrooms.
The area itself is quite residential, not too many restaurants or bars. However, much better value than South Beach.

Found the staff helpful, we were a group of 4 adults, however 2 more family members came down to visit us as a surprise. We thought this might be an issue (some places might make you pay for another room) but we were allowed to have them stay with us on the pull out sofa bed at no extra cost which was great.

Not sure I would return - but that is nothing to do with the hotel, I wouldn't probably choose a different area if I was returning.
Would 100% recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just spent 9 nights here and I will be back. I travel on Business and have stayed in the more expensive hotels nearby - but never again – I have found the place I will come back to. What can I say – beach across the road, surfside restaurants just round the corner. Comfortable quiet room, great staff – perfect in every way.

Room Tip: think you will struggle to find a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have stayed at several of the larger hotels in the North Miami area. This the ONLY boutique size hotel/villa in the area. For years I have tried to secure a room here but they were always sold out whenever I was going there. I understand why. Bal Harbor is a pricey area. This place has the absolute best rates. Trust me!

While I did not feel the interior warranted over $350 per night, that thought was quickly dismissed by the exceptional customer service, peaceful stay and local area. This is more of a bed and breakfast (without the breakfast, but they do offer coffee) Luis and Vanesa are very accommodating, they take the time to give you a full tour of the property, let you know what is around the local area. If you want to feel glamorous, pampered and spend an arm and a leg, go to the St. Regis, if you want to feel like you're home away from home.. stay here. This is the best place I have stayed at in the Bal Harbor area and my new place when visiting North Miami. Absolutely my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

After extensive research decided not to stay in Miami Beach South because of a perceived lack of value for money, external noise and cost of car parking

Sun Harbour chosen because of its good reviews, closeness of restaurants and on-site car parking and proximity to public transport to take us downtown.

Sun Harbour was not what or where I imagined in a very good way - yippee

We stayed in room 16 (out of 19) for 2 nights during October 2013. It was an upstairs, corner room with a large sitting area with a flat screen TV, dining table with 4 chairs plus a small but fully equipped kitchen with fridge + freezer hot plate microwave dishwasher plus crockery glasses and cutlery. There was a compact bathroom with a well controlled over bath shower plus fluffy towels. The bedroom included a large walk-in closet with safe, a comfy king sized bed plus side tables and large flat screen TV. Everything in working order and modern - excellent so far

The hotel is shaped like a horseshoe around a heated pool and sitting area.

The hotel fronts a busy road - Collins Avenue. The location didn't create any problems as all the rooms are soundproofed so external noise is not a problem. Combined with comfy beds and good curtaining meant we slept well

Parking is either in front of the Hotel or under cover at the rear of the hotel

In terms of location, the hotel is one block from beach with chairs and brollies supplied.

A block behind the hotel is Harding Avenue with shops and restaurants. But these pale into comparison with the nearby Bel Harbor shopping centre which is like being in London Paris Milan with top named brands - Stella Alexander Versace De Beer Jimmy Armani Caroline Prada and many more that are beyond me. This is the place for the beautiful people with lots of $$$$ with an expensive taste in cars.

Restaurants are still affordable and we ate there twice - Japanese (scallops and chicken recommended) and Italian

The bus downtown is $2.50 with a regular timetable and stops close to the Sun Harbour. The journey on the 125 took about 40 minutes

Money saved on the hotel went towards to some excellent meals and we still had an excellent hotel which is one of the best we have stayed - makes sense doesn't it????? - thank you Sun Harbour you deserve to succeed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel

Address: 9576 Collins Ave, Surfside, FL 33154
Location: United States > Florida > Surfside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Surfside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.