We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, wonderful stay in North Miami...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9576 Collins Ave, Surfside, FL 33154   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Surfside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Perfect location, wonderful stay in North Miami...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have stayed at several of the larger hotels in the North Miami area. This the ONLY boutique size hotel/villa in the area. For years I have tried to secure a room here but they were always sold out whenever I was going there. I understand why. Bal Harbor is a pricey area. This place has the absolute best rates. Trust me!

While I did not feel the interior warranted over $350 per night, that thought was quickly dismissed by the exceptional customer service, peaceful stay and local area. This is more of a bed and breakfast (without the breakfast, but they do offer coffee) Luis and Vanesa are very accommodating, they take the time to give you a full tour of the property, let you know what is around the local area. If you want to feel glamorous, pampered and spend an arm and a leg, go to the St. Regis, if you want to feel like you're home away from home.. stay here. This is the best place I have stayed at in the Bal Harbor area and my new place when visiting North Miami. Absolutely my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    37
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
134
83
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

After extensive research decided not to stay in Miami Beach South because of a perceived lack of value for money, external noise and cost of car parking

Sun Harbour chosen because of its good reviews, closeness of restaurants and on-site car parking and proximity to public transport to take us downtown.

Sun Harbour was not what or where I imagined in a very good way - yippee

We stayed in room 16 (out of 19) for 2 nights during October 2013. It was an upstairs, corner room with a large sitting area with a flat screen TV, dining table with 4 chairs plus a small but fully equipped kitchen with fridge + freezer hot plate microwave dishwasher plus crockery glasses and cutlery. There was a compact bathroom with a well controlled over bath shower plus fluffy towels. The bedroom included a large walk-in closet with safe, a comfy king sized bed plus side tables and large flat screen TV. Everything in working order and modern - excellent so far

The hotel is shaped like a horseshoe around a heated pool and sitting area.

The hotel fronts a busy road - Collins Avenue. The location didn't create any problems as all the rooms are soundproofed so external noise is not a problem. Combined with comfy beds and good curtaining meant we slept well

Parking is either in front of the Hotel or under cover at the rear of the hotel

In terms of location, the hotel is one block from beach with chairs and brollies supplied.

A block behind the hotel is Harding Avenue with shops and restaurants. But these pale into comparison with the nearby Bel Harbor shopping centre which is like being in London Paris Milan with top named brands - Stella Alexander Versace De Beer Jimmy Armani Caroline Prada and many more that are beyond me. This is the place for the beautiful people with lots of $$$$ with an expensive taste in cars.

Restaurants are still affordable and we ate there twice - Japanese (scallops and chicken recommended) and Italian

The bus downtown is $2.50 with a regular timetable and stops close to the Sun Harbour. The journey on the 125 took about 40 minutes

Money saved on the hotel went towards to some excellent meals and we still had an excellent hotel which is one of the best we have stayed - makes sense doesn't it????? - thank you Sun Harbour you deserve to succeed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed her in November and December. The rooms were very clean and well equipped. The free parking and nearby stores were very convenient. The owners and housekeeping staff were friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the main road are probably the quietest, though we noted no noise in either loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
1 review
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

It's a very Cozy and nice hotel ,The bedrooms are big and you feel like Home.
The Service is really good and the location is perfect. You can walk to Publix, Cvs. Ball Harbour Mall and Nice restaurans....
There is no doubt that this is my place to stay in Miami.
I really have to say thank you for the staff because we had an amazing time.

Room Tip: Room number 8 is the biggest one
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great place, great friendly people and great location! We loved everything in this boutique hotel and are glad we found this for our future visits to Surfside. The whole staff here could easily work in a 5-star hotel, they are so professional, friendly and helpful. The accomodation is so nice, well kept and furnished in a nice tropical style that we felt at home from the moment we entered. The covered parking is an additional worthy asset as well as the proximity to the beach, the complimentary additional beach towels and the many restaurants and great shops within walking distance. We will sure be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed with my wife 3 nights in November, it was a great experience. Sapcious rooms, perfectly maintained, across from the beach and the Bal Harbour Mall, in a wonderful locaion with free parking and free wifi.
On top of the excellence of the facilities the people working there are simply great. Luis and his daughter María Pia, Jorge and Vanessa are always helpfull and reachable. They also helped giving us a verly late check out.
I have just reccomended this hotel to my friends and have plans to come back in the future,
Patricia and Marcelo

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel 6 nights in October, the hotel is just perfect. Very clean, across from the beach, a nice pool, close to restaurants, Publix and CVS, free parking and free wifi that worked pretty well!!!
We were 4 adults and 2 little kids and we got a 2 bedroom apartment that worked perfect for us, the apartment had everything we needed.
All the people who work there are excellent. Specially VANESA, JORGE, and manager LUIS, the three of them were more than helpful and made our stay to be great. Also the ladies in charge of cleaning are doing a great job.
We left the hotel at 6:30PM and we didn't get charged for the extra time. We got from the hotel more than was expected and considering all the things you get for free at this hotel and the location, you save hundreds of bucks for staying at the Sun Harbour compared to similar hotels in the area.
Congrats to all the people who run this hotel and we hope to be back again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel

Address: 9576 Collins Ave, Surfside, FL 33154
Location: United States > Florida > Surfside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Surfside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.