We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Older Salon style units. OK but a balcony would have been Awesome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Solara Surfside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Solara Surfside Resort to your Saves list
Solara Surfside Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8801 Collins Avenue, Surfside, FL 33154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Surfside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, Older Salon style units. OK but a balcony would have been Awesome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great Bech access, pool temp was great for December, Hottub was wonderful. The Front Desk staff as well as the Vallet were supurb. The building itself is dated, but has been well maintained and properly updated. The only downfall was not having a balcony. Being ocean front a Building, you want a balcony. That is my only downfall of the place... But enough to make it just an average place to stay.

Room Tip: Get the 2 Bedroom suite, it has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    61
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
44
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed as a family of 5 over Thanksgiving break. We had a two bedroom suite with a pullout sofa couch that was plenty big enough for us. The carpet was dated and old, but overall it was pretty clean. The kids loved the pool and you are a 2 minute walk to the ocean. I loved the waves, but beware of rip tides - a little sketchy for the kids as it did feel very "pully". We took the bus down to South Beach (15 minute ride) for about $20 RT - way better than driving and trying to park. Overall it was a nice place and location. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great place for laid back Miami Beach vacation, wonderful beach access, courtious parking attendants, the rooms have wonderful bay views, ocean views. Comfortable furniture. All the necessary kitchen needs. Well appointed. Will return

Room Tip: Ask for upper room, front corner. One bedroom has very large living area with sofa bed, easily large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My family and I visited the Solara for the first time in November 2012. This place was AWESOME! the staff were great, the room was great, and the beaches were to die for. Lots of shopping in walking distance which made it so much easier. I recommend this place to everyone! I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonkeyGirlBean
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our 4 month old daughter while in town visiting my in-laws. We had a junior 1 bdrm apartment (was largely a studio apt but had a folding wall that could separate the bedroom from the living area). It was small but comfortable. It was nice to have the full amenities of an apt with kitchen and bath, etc. But the carpet was very dirty. We took a tour and saw some of the large/deluxe 2 bdrm apts and those, of course, were beautiful. However, our accommodations were just mediocre. Free laundry was great and much appreciated. And the staff were all very friendly and helpful during our stay. There is a fun little game room where kids (or adult kids, like us) can play video games, board games, and make crafts, etc. It's a nice little place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We wanted to go to the Keys and decided to stop at Miami Beach--wanted to see South Beach. The Solar Surfside is nice. The room was large--a 1 bedroom, but we were disappointed because it was so far from South Beach. They had their own beach and a walking trail which was nice. A pool and Jacuzzi outside. For the future, I would verify how far from South Beach. Miami Beach is huge and certainly NOT walkable. There are casinos in driving distance. Recommend the bus to go to South Beach since the parking is awful. The restaurants are great and ARE in walking distance. Recommend Adriana's.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I live in Sufside but went to the Solara for an overnight anniversary celebration. The hotel was excellent. The front desk staff was most helpful (Junior and C. Fonseca), the room (706) was fantastic and everything was very clean, fresh and in good working order. We plan on returning every couple of months to just relax and sit on the wonderful balconies in room 706.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the 2 bedroom suites located ocean side. Would be able to sleep 8 people. Big li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.9 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
4.2 mi away
Thompson Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
3.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Surfside Resort

Address: 8801 Collins Avenue, Surfside, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Surfside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Surfside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solara Surfside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Solara Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Surfside Hotel Surfside
Solara Hotel Surfside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solara Surfside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.