We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Anniversary/Thanksgiving Ever with Family!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solara Surfside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Solara Surfside Resort to your Saves list
Solara Surfside Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8801 Collins Avenue, Surfside, FL 33154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Surfside
Jacksonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best Anniversary/Thanksgiving Ever with Family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My family and I visited the Solara for the first time in November 2012. This place was AWESOME! the staff were great, the room was great, and the beaches were to die for. Lots of shopping in walking distance which made it so much easier. I recommend this place to everyone! I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    54
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
42
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MonkeyGirlBean
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our 4 month old daughter while in town visiting my in-laws. We had a junior 1 bdrm apartment (was largely a studio apt but had a folding wall that could separate the bedroom from the living area). It was small but comfortable. It was nice to have the full amenities of an apt with kitchen and bath, etc. But the carpet was very dirty. We took a tour and saw some of the large/deluxe 2 bdrm apts and those, of course, were beautiful. However, our accommodations were just mediocre. Free laundry was great and much appreciated. And the staff were all very friendly and helpful during our stay. There is a fun little game room where kids (or adult kids, like us) can play video games, board games, and make crafts, etc. It's a nice little place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We wanted to go to the Keys and decided to stop at Miami Beach--wanted to see South Beach. The Solar Surfside is nice. The room was large--a 1 bedroom, but we were disappointed because it was so far from South Beach. They had their own beach and a walking trail which was nice. A pool and Jacuzzi outside. For the future, I would verify how far from South Beach. Miami Beach is huge and certainly NOT walkable. There are casinos in driving distance. Recommend the bus to go to South Beach since the parking is awful. The restaurants are great and ARE in walking distance. Recommend Adriana's.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I live in Sufside but went to the Solara for an overnight anniversary celebration. The hotel was excellent. The front desk staff was most helpful (Junior and C. Fonseca), the room (706) was fantastic and everything was very clean, fresh and in good working order. We plan on returning every couple of months to just relax and sit on the wonderful balconies in room 706.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the 2 bedroom suites located ocean side. Would be able to sleep 8 people. Big li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the beginning of August and stayed for a week. There were many things that we appreciated, being a family of six. Having the beach chairs readily available and staffed was great. Beach umbrellas were available at a daily rate of $10, and there were times when we left, came back and the attendant left everything there without issue. The beach was not crowded at all and we had plenty of room, no matter what time of day. There was a bin of beach toys that our kids were permitted to use, which was really nice because we absolutely were not packing beach toys in our checked luggage!

We had two rooms between the six of us. Our rooms were fine....not huge, but we are not fussy people and didn't spend a lot of time in them anyway. I would definitely recommend renting a vehicle, as there are not a lot of restaurants or attractions within reasonable walking distance for a young family. We were able to see so much more of Miami this way, including the Seaquarium, Sun Life Stadium--preseason NFL game, and South Beach. The valet parking was very helpful, and at $5 a day, was well worth it considering parking is at a premium.

The staff was friendly and knew our names. Our kids participated in several planned activities and made souvenirs, had S'mores, etc. The pool was clean and towels were provided. Hot tub was nice also. We also utilized the outdoor grilling area for some hot dogs.

The only drawbacks for us were the extreme amount of seaweed and the cleanliness of the beach and water, but that's not the fault of the Solara. There were also quite a few stray cats that left "deposits" behind in the sand volleyball courts and beach area. Again, not a huge deal.

We had a nice stay and would consider the Solara again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Tried staying for my honeymoon not only did they book the wrong room and make us look at another building their service was poor. no vending because none of it worked they don't care about your stay or if u r enjoying your stay and they r not helpful. don't waste your time not worth the money. unless u like staying in the Alamo on the beach....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

These are condo style rooms fitted with flat screens and Blu-Ray players. Outdoor amenities included grill, beach volleyball court, hammocks, a giant size chessboard, shuffleboard, and of course the pool/hot tub. Guests also receive a free beach chair (great perk). Location isn't the best since it's about 10 blocks either direction to a decent restaurant (although it IS on the beach). The hotel also has a host of activities--although many are cancelled b/c of attendance. Finally, be warned; this is a family hotel so expect to see children (lots of them) and their grandparents.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are the best...and daily valet parking is cheap ($12)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solara Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Surfside Resort

Address: 8801 Collins Avenue, Surfside, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Surfside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Surfside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solara Surfside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Solara Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Surfside Hotel Surfside
Solara Hotel Surfside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solara Surfside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.