We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solara Surfside Resort

Save Saved
You added Solara Surfside Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solara Surfside Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8801 Collins Avenue, Surfside, FL 33154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Surfside
Miami Beach, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Was fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I live in Sufside but went to the Solara for an overnight anniversary celebration. The hotel was excellent. The front desk staff was most helpful (Junior and C. Fonseca), the room (706) was fantastic and everything was very clean, fresh and in good working order. We plan on returning every couple of months to just relax and sit on the wonderful balconies in room 706.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the 2 bedroom suites located ocean side. Would be able to sleep 8 people. Big li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    52
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
42
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the beginning of August and stayed for a week. There were many things that we appreciated, being a family of six. Having the beach chairs readily available and staffed was great. Beach umbrellas were available at a daily rate of $10, and there were times when we left, came back and the attendant left everything there without issue. The beach was not crowded at all and we had plenty of room, no matter what time of day. There was a bin of beach toys that our kids were permitted to use, which was really nice because we absolutely were not packing beach toys in our checked luggage!

We had two rooms between the six of us. Our rooms were fine....not huge, but we are not fussy people and didn't spend a lot of time in them anyway. I would definitely recommend renting a vehicle, as there are not a lot of restaurants or attractions within reasonable walking distance for a young family. We were able to see so much more of Miami this way, including the Seaquarium, Sun Life Stadium--preseason NFL game, and South Beach. The valet parking was very helpful, and at $5 a day, was well worth it considering parking is at a premium.

The staff was friendly and knew our names. Our kids participated in several planned activities and made souvenirs, had S'mores, etc. The pool was clean and towels were provided. Hot tub was nice also. We also utilized the outdoor grilling area for some hot dogs.

The only drawbacks for us were the extreme amount of seaweed and the cleanliness of the beach and water, but that's not the fault of the Solara. There were also quite a few stray cats that left "deposits" behind in the sand volleyball courts and beach area. Again, not a huge deal.

We had a nice stay and would consider the Solara again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Tried staying for my honeymoon not only did they book the wrong room and make us look at another building their service was poor. no vending because none of it worked they don't care about your stay or if u r enjoying your stay and they r not helpful. don't waste your time not worth the money. unless u like staying in the Alamo on the beach....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

These are condo style rooms fitted with flat screens and Blu-Ray players. Outdoor amenities included grill, beach volleyball court, hammocks, a giant size chessboard, shuffleboard, and of course the pool/hot tub. Guests also receive a free beach chair (great perk). Location isn't the best since it's about 10 blocks either direction to a decent restaurant (although it IS on the beach). The hotel also has a host of activities--although many are cancelled b/c of attendance. Finally, be warned; this is a family hotel so expect to see children (lots of them) and their grandparents.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are the best...and daily valet parking is cheap ($12)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodview, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The resort was acceptable - nothing special, but the concierge staff was ill informed and useless

Room Tip: Just don't rely on the concierge for information about tours and such.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Solara for the first time prior to going on a cruise on 7/2/12. The two night stay was delightful and our guests, who are travel agents, loved the accommodations. We stayed in a 2BR unit. We used the beach. pool, and BBQ grills. All were great! Other than a little snafu over being given permission to leave one of the cars there during the cruise, which the manager finally allowed us to do, everything was wonderful. Thank you to the wonderful staff at Solara!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was a little apprehensive about booking here, but my HGVC converted points to RCI were going to expire - so we decided to give this a try! I am so glad we did. The staff is absolutely fabulous - very friendly and accommodating. The studio room was spacious with a balcony and up to date kitchen appliances. The beach is just steps away and the hotel provides towels and beach chairs. You can rent an umbrella if you like. There is a great running path right in front of the hotel along the beach.
The cons - if you want to go to South Beach or some of the shopping areas - you have to take your car - same for some of the best restaurants. I also heard that you do not want the second floor as they do not have balconies.
One of my favorite restaurants was Fratelli la bufala. yum! A must do for some great pizza.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solara Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Surfside Resort

Address: 8801 Collins Avenue, Surfside, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Surfside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Surfside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solara Surfside Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Solara Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Surfside Hotel Surfside
Solara Hotel Surfside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solara Surfside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.