We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flight delay, late to hotel, room paid for not available” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13600 Northwest 2nd St, Sunrise, FL 33325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Flight delay, late to hotel, room paid for not available”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We booked this through hotels.com and paid in full in advance. It was for a room with two double beds (we are four). We had bad luck and our flight was delayed. We arrived at the hotel at 2 am. And the room we already has paid for was not available. They gave us a room with one bed and a sleeping sofa.
And there is smoke smell everywhere.
Other than that room is ok. Has a microwave and refrigerator. Very old fashion. No ceramic cups to heat in the microwave (I hate to put plastic in it)
In my opinion too overpriced for what it is

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    178
    84
    24
    14
See reviews for
150
104
28
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night in an executive king room. We were visiting my sister, who lives in the area and was having a baby shower at her home. My mother booked this hotel for us, so I immediately looked it up on Trip Advisor. I admit, I was a little nervous after reading the reviews. When we drove up to the hotel, we were surprised to find that there was another La Quinta across the street that looked much nicer. The one across the street had much better curb appeal with a huge fountain in front. Our La Quinta was just a regular building, no fancy fountain. The lobby was small. There were a few couches and a registration desk. There is a larger room to the right where the free continental breakfast is held in the morning. Breakfast was a nice selection of bagels, waffle station, cereal, hard boiled eggs, coffee and tea. The room ended up being nice. It had a microwave and small fridge. It was clean and it was fine for one night. There aren't too many places to eat around the hotel. There's a subway and an ikea across the street. There is also a Publix down the street within driving distance.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Reserved an Executive One King bedroom at this Establishment due to positive experience in the past. What at mistake...

Arrived at location after a long days drive and got a room on the second floor facing the Parking lot. Looking around the room we found dust, filth and bugs littering the windowsill and the shelf above the AC. The curtains were faded and dark with dirt, undefinable stains and smudged fingerprints. One look inside the bathroom revealed stains of urine and feces on and underneath the toilet seat. As we alerted the Front Desk of the rooms' poor condition we were given the option of moving to another room immediately or risk losing it as the Hotel was otherwise fully booked, or the Desk clerk could access and clean our current room herself. As we had a pressing pre-planned engagement none of the options were really acceptable and so, after some discussion, the Hotel waivered the bill for the Night and left us to dust the room.

As we returned to our room close to midnight that night we found the key-lock for the side door out of order, leaving all the Hotel floors accessible to just anyone that happens to be there, and walking up the stairs it became clear that someone had used the staircase for something other than walking as smell of urine filled the air.

Back in our room after a long day on our feet looking forward to a shower and some shut-eye we discovered dirt and black strands of hair in the bathtub (none of us have dark hair) and vomit stains on the base of the toilet seat. Being a late night and knowing we wouldn't be offered another room we just tried to go to sleep, which was hard due to the lack of feeling secure.
After a restless night we went down to breakfast, anticipating La Quintas usual array of items, just to be greeted by a sufficient shortage and rude and petronizing staff.

Needless to say we addressed management and left the establishment as soon as possible with nothing but a bad taste in our mouths, a grosed out feeling in our guts and a waiver for a free (and fortunately unspecified) La Quinta stay.

Will not return to this ill-managed and deteriorating establishment and wouldn't dream of recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

When I first looked at this hotel on the map I wasn't sure I wanted to stay there, but it was very pleasant and I would recommend the hotel. My sister and I were catching a flight the next day at Ft. Lauderdale Hollywood airport and this hotel is very convenient to the airport. It is also fairly close to various food places, and two or three malls. I enjoyed being close to the Ikea - it was fun to walk through their warehouse. It may seem like there isn't a lot around this hotel but there are several places and malls within a few blocks of your room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Love this Hotel for the price. There are two La Quinta's across the street from each other in Sunrise, but my experience is that the one at 13600 Northwest 2nd Street is the best choice.
Nice front desk service, great rooms, very comfortable king beds with lots of pillows. Free breakfast is same as all La Quintas. Large pool but not heated (cold).
We've stayed here many times while shopping in Fort Lauderdale, and it was even better this time!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very close and to BB&T center with a great backroad to avoid traffic when the event lets out, sawgrass outlet is right down the street and Ikea is within walking distance Really nice staff, nice breakfast, clean and comfy room

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

O.K. accommodations. Go to Lesters for breakfast. Difficult to find, located adjacent to the Ikea store. Pleasant desk service; helpful. Do not recommend breakfast there; poor food selection and inadequate seating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise

Address: 13600 Northwest 2nd St, Sunrise, FL 33325
Location: United States > Florida > Sunrise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise At Sawgrass Mills Hotel Sunrise
La Quinta Inn And Suites Sunrise At Sawgrass Mills
La Quinta Hotel Sunrise
La Quinta Sunrise
Sunrise La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.