We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe I came on a bad week” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3003 N. University Dr, Sunrise, FL 33322   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
charlotte nc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Maybe I came on a bad week”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

1st night the air conditioning did not work in the room, they did fix it by the next day. That day the first floor flooded. Other than that, the staff was nice and hotel clean. The shuttle took forever to come so I took a cab instead. The restaurant was out of shrimp, in Florida I figured seafood would be easy to come by.

Room Tip: Maybe a lower level would not be so hot when the air isn't working, I was on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We apologize that your stay didn't meet your expectations... While we are glad to hear that our engineering staff was able to repair your air conditioning issue in a timely manner. We assure you, it's not every day a water pipe breaks and floods our first floor, including the restaurant. We did our best to minimize the affect the flooding had on our guests, and we're very sorry that it interrupted your stay. We thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    125
    58
    42
    29
See reviews for
86
79
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

From the moment you walk in the lobby, you receive a warm welcome. I stayed at this property for two nights and stayed in one of their king bed suits. The room was clean and smelled clean. The pool area was clean and very relaxing. The hotel has a nice fitness room and lobby lounge area.

I Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: The king bed suites are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the time you took to tell others! We hope to see you again the next time you're in South Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton Pa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family stayed there 4 nights in the beginning of July for a tournament in the area. A friend who sponsors our son paid for the hotel, we were on the 5th floor. It is centrally located and very close to Fort Lauderdale where we needed be. I was a bit put out because their guest laundry facilities were broken-down; having called earlier to make sure they had one. However, I was able to spend two nice hours at a local laundry mat on July 4th (needed to clean the “lucky/winning” gear for next day’s tournament). The hotel and staff were very nice and our room was always very clean. The restaurant was a bit pricey but the food was great. The anole lizards everywhere are always fun to watch and the pool was really nice, just a shame it closes at dusk. All in all, our stay at the Holiday Inn was a happy one. We are thankful for our sponsorship that paid for our room and very happy with the staff who went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We appreciate your comments and Trip Advisor review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your team had success in their tournament! Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booked online and used our points for a free stay. We stayed one night and was very happy with the accommodations. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Would be great if they could offer breakfast. Would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and were able to use your Rewards Club points for a good time! Thank you for your kind words about our staff! It's always nice to hear from our guests when we've done a good job! We hope to see you again should you return to South Florida! Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had an awesome experience. There was an hotel employee by the name of Russel at the front desk. He always greeted & was very nice! Great customer service when entering! Thank you for everything! We enjoyed our stay being that we were from Chicago!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
It was so kind of you to take the time and recognize one of our staff members by name! We will be sure to let Russell know he wowed a guest! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with Trip Advisor! We appreciate your review and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glennville, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a great place to stay. The staff is always friendly and the rooms are very nice. We travel to Florida at least twice a year to visit our family and this is the hotel that we chose to stay each time. The only thing I wish they would do is have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. You have to keep going down to the lobby if you need to warm something up. There is no free breakfast so you can count that out. But if you desire a nice and clean place this is where you would stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel! Repeat guests like you are why we do what we do and we appreciate hearing back from you! The next time you book, please inquire about the availibility of guest rooms with microwaves and refrigerators... they tend to book quickly! Thank you again for your feedback and sharing your comments with Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEBRING
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The staff was very nice....the hotel is ok......the bed was very uncomfortable and the carpet had lots of stains...kinda gross..probably would stay somewhere else next time in area.................................................

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are sorry to hear that your accommodations did not meet your expectations. We value guest feedback and take the comments we hear very seriously. Please know that updates and projects to improve the goods in and around our hotel are ongoing projects as we work to maintain and meet the needs of our guests. We thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills

Address: 3003 N. University Dr, Sunrise, FL 33322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunrise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills. Conveniently located close to major highways and just minutes from the incredible Sawgrass Mills Mall , Miami Dolphins Sun Life Stadium, Florida Panthers BankAtlantic Center, the quaint shops of Las Olas, Sawgrass Corporate Park, cruise ship Port Everglades, and the Sun and Sand of South Florida Beaches. Guests of our Ft. Lauderdale hotel can enjoy an array of area attractions including the Museum of Science and Discovery, the Broward Performing Arts Center, and the Greater Sunrise / Plantation Area. Ft. Lauderdale beach is 20 minutes away, making a fun filled beach excursion part of your Ft. Lauderdale trip. Business travel is convenient at our Sunrise area hotel with Motorola, AT&T, IRS, Cigna, HealthSouth, IBM, McKesson, State Farm and Sawgrass Corporate Park all in our backyard. Our Fort Lauderdale area hotel offers choice amenities including free shuttle within 5 miles of the hotel plus Tramonto Cucina & Trattoria. Other features include free Wifi in Guest rooms and Meeting & Banquet Space, In Room Dining, Fitness Center, Business Center and Tropical Courtyard with Outdoor Pool. We feature our own World Class Soccer Training field and are the “home away from home” for training of many Professional, National and Olympic teams and the official hotel of the NASL’s Ft Lauderdale Strikers. We are just 20 minutes from Ft. Lauderdale Airport (FLL), and Miami International Airport (MIA) is just 30 miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Sawgrass Mills
Holiday Inn Sunrise
Sunrise Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.