We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sawgrass Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sawgrass Grand to your Saves list
Sawgrass Grand
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3003 N. University Dr, Sunrise, FL 33322 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Easton Pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family stayed there 4 nights in the beginning of July for a tournament in the area. A friend who sponsors our son paid for the hotel, we were on the 5th floor. It is centrally located and very close to Fort Lauderdale where we needed be. I was a bit put out because their guest laundry facilities were broken-down; having called earlier to make sure they had one. However, I was able to spend two nice hours at a local laundry mat on July 4th (needed to clean the “lucky/winning” gear for next day’s tournament). The hotel and staff were very nice and our room was always very clean. The restaurant was a bit pricey but the food was great. The anole lizards everywhere are always fun to watch and the pool was really nice, just a shame it closes at dusk. All in all, our stay at the Holiday Inn was a happy one. We are thankful for our sponsorship that paid for our room and very happy with the staff who went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We appreciate your comments and Trip Advisor review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your team had success in their tournament! Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    170
    112
    90
    83
See reviews for
160
139
54
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booked online and used our points for a free stay. We stayed one night and was very happy with the accommodations. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Would be great if they could offer breakfast. Would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and were able to use your Rewards Club points for a good time! Thank you for your kind words about our staff! It's always nice to hear from our guests when we've done a good job! We hope to see you again should you return to South Florida! Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had an awesome experience. There was an hotel employee by the name of Russel at the front desk. He always greeted & was very nice! Great customer service when entering! Thank you for everything! We enjoyed our stay being that we were from Chicago!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
It was so kind of you to take the time and recognize one of our staff members by name! We will be sure to let Russell know he wowed a guest! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with Trip Advisor! We appreciate your review and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glennville, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a great place to stay. The staff is always friendly and the rooms are very nice. We travel to Florida at least twice a year to visit our family and this is the hotel that we chose to stay each time. The only thing I wish they would do is have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. You have to keep going down to the lobby if you need to warm something up. There is no free breakfast so you can count that out. But if you desire a nice and clean place this is where you would stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel! Repeat guests like you are why we do what we do and we appreciate hearing back from you! The next time you book, please inquire about the availibility of guest rooms with microwaves and refrigerators... they tend to book quickly! Thank you again for your feedback and sharing your comments with Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEBRING
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The staff was very nice....the hotel is ok......the bed was very uncomfortable and the carpet had lots of stains...kinda gross..probably would stay somewhere else next time in area.................................................

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are sorry to hear that your accommodations did not meet your expectations. We value guest feedback and take the comments we hear very seriously. Please know that updates and projects to improve the goods in and around our hotel are ongoing projects as we work to maintain and meet the needs of our guests. We thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a convention we had at the BB&T center during the month of June. We rented to rooms next to each other because we were traveling with our 5 kids. It was nice that even though the rooms were not connecting rooms, the balconies are all connected and we were able to easily go from one room to another through the back door instead of having to use the front door constantly. Staff was friendly and hospitable. The hotel offers free parking and Wi-Fi. The pool is heated. Also, even though they do not allow outside food around the pool area, I asked since it was from a local pizzeria listed in their room binder, and they allowed it. When we visited, the Honduras national soccer team was also there training for Brazil so the hotel was really busy. However, the staff was very accommodating and apologetic for the buzz around the hotel. The soccer team was super sweet and signed autographs for the kids and took pictures with them. Overall our stay was awesome, the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because we didn't have a mini fridge in the room. We ended up buying a small cooler and getting ice from the hotel machine to keep our stuff cool. When we arrived to check in some people were complaining about the limited roll carts available to them for their luggage and another gentleman was requesting a different room since the water heater in his room was not working, in my opinion the staff could have been more accommodating to their needs; however, we didn't run into any of these issues. Hope my review helps you make a decision and thanks so much for reading!

Room Tip: For families needing extra rooms, rooms with balconies worked out great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We were honored to host the Honduran National Soccer team during their preparations for the World Cup, and are very pleased to hear feedback that our efforts to ensure that the buzz and fans surrounding the team did not infringe on the stay and service to our other hotel guests during that time. We appreciate your kind words and thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn as your convention home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Priceline deal. It was for a quick one night stay, we were a late check in. The lady at the front desk was very kind. She told us that a lot of professional soccer players worldwide stay at their hotel due to the proximity to the soccer fields. The lobby area was nice, the rooms, however, do need some work. The carpets were stained, the molding in the bathroom was starting to detach from the wall. It's good for a night stay, but if you are looking to vacation here - I would look elsewhere.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments. As with any hotel, upgrades and improvements are an on going process and ours is no different. Our most recent lobby work you noted in your review is one example of the continuous efforts to maintain and improve. Thank you again for your review and we hope that should you find yourself passing through South Florida again, you'll stop back and see what else we've been up to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunrise
4.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale/West-Sawgrass/Tamarac
2.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawgrass Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawgrass Grand

Address: 3003 N. University Dr, Sunrise, FL 33322 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills)
Location: United States > Florida > Sunrise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawgrass Grand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sawgrass Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Sawgrass Mills
Holiday Inn Sunrise
Sunrise Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawgrass Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.