We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3003 N. University Dr, Sunrise, FL 33322   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Trinidad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Perfect Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family visited Ft. Lauderdale for the first time and we stayed at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills for nine (9) days from August 13, 2012. The staff at the hotel was very warm and friendly and we felt very much at home during our stay. The hotel offers a shuttle service to the malls and nearby areas within five (5) miles from the hotel. We had booked a rental vehicle but eventually decided to use the shuttle which was efficient and the drivers Daryl and Mr. Henry were extremely pleasant and accommodating. We also didn't feel comfortable driving. We were able to get all our shopping done without any problems. My husband Don and I would like to thank the front desk staff Johnathan, Renee and others as well as Daryl and Mr. Henry for making our vacation a perfect one. The room was clean and the food was delicious. The location was close to the Sawgrass Mall and the Broward Mall and many fast food outlets. There is also a Walmart and Lowe's within walking distance from the hotel. We have absolutely no complaints only great things to report on. My 10 year old son had a fantastic time which we were hoping for. He has already asked to return next year. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a perfect vacation in the right location. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    135
    66
    44
    31
See reviews for
90
87
40
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nassau,bahamas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This place was okay, definitely not my first choice but it was a quick trip and my other choices were either full or too expensive. Given the choice, i wouldn't make it a top priority to stay here but if theres nothing else then it will definitely suffice. Good location, friendly enough staff and decent rooms. What else do you really need for a 2 or 3 day stay eh.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The facade was beautiful and so was the room. The only drawbacks were the business center and front desk service. The computer in the business center could not print pdf docs. I had to ask the front desk clerk who was reluctant to print it. I had to ask her three times. That placed a damper on my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

I recently moved my parents to an assisted living facility in Lauderhill, Florida. So now instead of a comfy second bedroom in their golf community villa, I had to find myself alternate digs when I come down south to visit them. The Holiday Inn & Suites Sawgrass is the nicest spot in my parents' new 'hood. While I'm purdy pleased with all aspects of my new "home away from home" the best part has been making friends with fellow travelers at the lobby bar hosted by Linda Homfeld. She is incredible. A friendly face, a warm voice and very, very friendly. And...after only one evening she remembered my drink, my parents' situation and where I am from. Something I can NOT say about my local dry cleaner, bank teller or Starbucks barista back at home in Toronto whom I see almost every day! The front desk personnel also, after only one visit welcomed me back and after two visits I began getting upgrades and a goody bag of Miss Vicky's chips and a bottle of water. While the rooms are pretty standard Holiday Inn, I absolutely look forward to checking in with Linda at the end of each day where this week (and last) we watched the Olympics together. So if you find yourself in this neck of the woods, and....you are a Detroit Tigers fan make sure you stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Sawgrass and tell Linda I sent you.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Traveling on business. All I want is a clean room and a nice place to catch a decent meal and a cold beer when I return to the hotel. This hotel did not disappoint. The best part was Linda at the bar, a fellow Detroiter and Tiger fan. Great service and conversation. Linda made us all feel like old friends, although we all only just met.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel is perfect for sports, shopping (so close to Sawgrass Mills!), and The Bank Atlantic Center concerts and shows. Upon arrival, we were treated like we were "special." The staff at this hotel obviously take pride in their jobs and making everyone feel welcome and oh so comfortable! Everything is newly remodeled and spotless! Will definitely be going back for another "pampered weekend!" Awesome experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel! Yes, we are conveiently located to Sawgrass Mills Mall for shopping & dining and the Bank Atlantic Center for Florida Panthers NHL Hockey and Concerts. We're glad you let us be your host for your Fabulous Weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was fantasic!! The front desk staff was very nice and very accommodating. Check in was fast and easy. Arlene who works at the front desk was very helpful and went above and beyond to make my stay as pleasant as possible. She signed me up for Priority Club and gave me a little goodie bag with chips, chocolate and water and also gave me a $10 voucher to use at the restaurant or bar. The room was very spacious and up to date. The bed was extremely comfortable and quite. I had breakfast at the restaurant and the food was delicious! Scott was my server and he was great! I didn't get to use all the amenities this hotel offer like the shuttle service or the pool but the pool looked lovely! Overall, my stay was great and I will definitely be staying here next time I'm in town!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Sawgrass Mills to be your home away from home. From your review, our staff members helped you feel right at home! Becoming a member of the Priority Club Rewards program was a great choice and lets you earn Rewards Points for every qualifying stay at any Intercontinental Hotels Group Hotel worldwide - and you got to experience the benefits that we offer to Priority Club Members who stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to be your host every time you visit South Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills

Address: 3003 N. University Dr, Sunrise, FL 33322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunrise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills. Conveniently located close to major highways and just minutes from the incredible Sawgrass Mills Mall , Miami Dolphins Sun Life Stadium, Florida Panthers BankAtlantic Center, the quaint shops of Las Olas, Sawgrass Corporate Park, cruise ship Port Everglades, and the Sun and Sand of South Florida Beaches. Guests of our Ft. Lauderdale hotel can enjoy an array of area attractions including the Museum of Science and Discovery, the Broward Performing Arts Center, and the Greater Sunrise / Plantation Area. Ft. Lauderdale beach is 20 minutes away, making a fun filled beach excursion part of your Ft. Lauderdale trip. Business travel is convenient at our Sunrise area hotel with Motorola, AT&T, IRS, Cigna, HealthSouth, IBM, McKesson, State Farm and Sawgrass Corporate Park all in our backyard. Our Fort Lauderdale area hotel offers choice amenities including free shuttle within 5 miles of the hotel plus Tramonto Cucina & Trattoria. Other features include free Wifi in Guest rooms and Meeting & Banquet Space, In Room Dining, Fitness Center, Business Center and Tropical Courtyard with Outdoor Pool. We feature our own World Class Soccer Training field and are the “home away from home” for training of many Professional, National and Olympic teams and the official hotel of the NASL’s Ft Lauderdale Strikers. We are just 20 minutes from Ft. Lauderdale Airport (FLL), and Miami International Airport (MIA) is just 30 miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Sawgrass Mills
Holiday Inn Sunrise
Sunrise Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.