We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best garlic rolls in town - absolutely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mario The Baker

Mario The Baker
2220 N University Dr, Sunrise, FL 33322-3941
954-742-3333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 208 Restaurants in Sunrise
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta, Family Fare
Restaurant details
Flagler Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“the best garlic rolls in town - absolutely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

the menu is huge, the staff is friendly, and the garlic rolls are the best i've had since marcella (in north miami) was making them in the 70's. the fact that the other food is great is just a bonus! the pizza is thin and crisp and full of flavor; the entrees (chicken, veal, shrimp & eggplant) are delicious -- and the pasta is cooked beautifully. the carbonara is my favorite --- it's lovely.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highlands, New Jersey
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“The best Italian cuisine in the region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Mario's is simply the best dining experience in Sunrise, Florida. The owners Frank and Martha make each guest feel like they are part of the family. Fernando, the chief chef is humble but his dishes sparkle with divine flavor. In three days I had four meals at Mario's; each meal was a culinary masterpiece. My only disappointment was that I could not eat more. This is one stop you should not miss on your vacation or business travel!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Eeeehh- it's ok!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Restaurant is small, staff is super friendly, excellent variety on menu with great prices but food was "just" ok! I'll go to OG or Carraba's next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Needs a restaurant makeover”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to this place for over 30 years as a snowbird. The food has progressively got worse and worse. Tonight I was there and it will be the last time! The salad is made up of lettuce cores, a few onions and a few carrots. The food tastes like crap and of very poor quality meat. The baked ziti is basically some over cooked pasta with cheese melted over it like any 5 year old can make. The only redeeming item are the garlic rolls. No wonder there was an hour and a half lineup at Olive Garden and Mario's was virtually empty. Time for a makeover people. I would love to see Robert Irvine visit your restaurant. Oh, and it forgot to mention the terrible waitress, but I'll stop here, use your imagination!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHAVANO PARK, TEXAS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Memories of Childhood & Garlic Rolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

What may be average pizza from a NY standard, once you move from the east coast and settle anyplace west of the mississippi you will remember the Pizza (and garlic rolls) and everything will be judged by the "Mario's Standard". Enjoy it now!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario The Baker also viewed

 

Been to Mario The Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mario The Baker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.