We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Dim Sum & Great Chinese Overall!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TOA TOA Chinese Restaurant

TOA TOA Chinese Restaurant
4145 NW 88th Ave, Sunrise, FL 33351
(954) 746-8833
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 192 Restaurants in Sunrise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Authentic Dim Sum & Great Chinese Overall!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My local favorite. Not close by either. It's several miles away. I pass several other Chinese establishments along the way. I've been a patron since 1998. Located in a mostly empty strip mall but the place is usually packed- especially on weekends. Super Dim Sum. Try the Shrimp Taro, Deep Fried Shrimp Dumplings, Fried Shrimp Balls, Marinated Baby Octopus, Mussels with Black Bean Sauce & Stuffed Black Mushrooms. The House Special Wonton Soup is full of flavor with plump shrimp, tender slices of chicken breast and juicy pork slices. All of the following are Great and China Town Worthy. The Orange Flavored Beef, Shrimp with Scallops, Diced Chicken with Cashew Nut, Chicken with Broccoli, Sliced Beef with Broccoli, Pepper Steak, Beef Pan Fried Noodles, Shrimp with Garlic Sauce, Hunan Beef and Singapore Rice Noodle.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    20
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Slice of Hong Kong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Located in a large shopping center Toa Toa doesn't look like much from the outside windows in a large store front. It is a typical neighborhood Chinese restaurant until you try the dim sum. Unfortunately, no dim sum carts patrolling the restaurant. Just a picture menu with a self serve order sheet and a very large selection of delectable delights. They also have a full Chinese food menu. Their shrimp kung bo was seasoned mildly but very good. My wife's shrimp in lobster sauce was quite tasty while our friends raved about the huge portion of honey chicken. After four large servings of food followed by 4 different dim sum we had to take home those little white boxes filled with food. Not much for atmosphere but a delight when it comes to the food. Service was slow and the restaurant was filled on a Saturday night. They offer a 10% discount for cash so our bill came to $32 for each couple including gratuity.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I eat here at least twice a month. The food never disappoints me, and now most of my family pops in when they are near by. Good food, good service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best dim sum in Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Its the real deal. Place is a dump service is fast and typical for chinese rest. Not so nice but efficient. Food is selfish. That is why you go. Real dim sum. Can't comment on reg menu but dim sum is awesome.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best dim sum in America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've been to HK several times.

My wife and in-laws are from Chengdu so are born foodies and know what's what.

We've lived in and tried the best that NYC, SF, and SJ have to offer - - this IS better.

Yes, it's in a funky strip mall location in Sunrise. Yes, it's a bit of a drive. But, damn, that is the best dim sum I've had in the United States. The service is terrific, the menu extensive, and the prices quite fair.

Like Dim Sum Go Go in NYC (which the wife and I always refer to as 'Dim Sum "A" Go Go') you order instead of deal with shrieking ladies in rolling carts bumping into arms, legs and elbows which is altogether more civilized and calming.

Run, don't walk, and go eat there. As the tv character Monk was wont to say: "You'll thank me later."

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TOA TOA Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to TOA TOA Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TOA TOA Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.