We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction - toilet overflowed - no help” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13651 Northwest 2nd Street, Sunrise, FL 33325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sunrise
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Construction - toilet overflowed - no help”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

50% of the hotel is under construction. Contractors use the same elevator as guests so you have to be careful because they might hit you with all kinds of stuff they are using while renovating the rooms.

The worst part of the stay was at 11pm when the toilet overflowed! The whole floor was full of whatever you can imagine.... No more words needed. Front desk person in charge told us that she can not help us. The only thing she offered was not to charge us for the room. It was almost midnight and we had to leave to the airport at 5am. We decided to stay for a few hours.

We left at 5am as planned. Without being able to get the front desk person attention. I guess that we were not noisy engough to wake her up. We just left a note saying that we checked out.

Stay away from this hotel. At least until they finish the renovation. It's a pity since is very close to Sawgrass Mills Mall.

Room Tip: On site construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    115
    44
    12
    12
See reviews for
106
57
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed for three days on business and was impressed with the quality of the rooms and hotel, generally, for what I paid. I found the staff helpful and friendly, breakfast was fine and free USA newspaper daily. My only bugbear was the terrible Internet speed (<1Mb download on a good night). I confirmed this with technical support who had to reset my router before it could even connect properly. It's the same speed across the road, where a sister LaQuinta is also available. It's a shame, because I have to access my work while I am on the road and my laptop wouldn't connect at such low speeds. Otherwise I'd rate 5 stars and definitely return again if they fix the slow Internet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this property in August. We flew in from Toronto to shop at Sawgrass Mills for 2 days then we were taking a cruise. We booked this online using Expedia which lists this as a 3 star property.

We pulled into the hotel parking lot and it looked bright and new. As we were checking in the receptionist advised us we were at the wrong property. Apparently, the one we were booked at was directly across the street adjoining the gas station. Same hotel name - same owners. So we drove across the street only to find a terrible looking hotel clearly under renovation and not newly renovated. There was a crowd of shady guys in the parking lot......I was reluctant to proceed. I asked the receptionist if we could go back to the first property since it was owned by the same company and she said i would lose my prepaid room and would have to pay again and pay more. Sadly, we checked in.

There are fans blowing air in the hallways to absorb moisture. The room smelled like mold, was dark and dingy. It clearly wasn't cleaned as there was still someone else's hair in the shower. The doors were paper thin and as a result we were up all night due to the noise in the hallway til around 4am. In the morning when I mentioned this to the receptionist she advised me to call the front desk if it happens again "as they kick people out all the time."

The so called gym had no equipment that worked - in fact nothing was even plugged in....

It was a terrible stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have stayed several times at both La Quinta Sunrise, and we always enjoy it. All the staff are very kind and resolve any problem what we could have. I really recommend to stay there. Excellent rate according services.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills

Address: 13651 Northwest 2nd Street, Sunrise, FL 33325
Location: United States > Florida > Sunrise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sunrise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Sunrise
La Quinta Sunrise
Sunrise Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;