We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horror Story” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13651 Northwest 2nd Street, Sunrise, FL 33325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Santo Domingo, Dominican Rpeublic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horror Story”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is a smoker's paradise...the rooms have a sharp horrible stench of cigarrete smoke...I stepped on a condom wrapper on the side of the bed...torn bedsheets, stained walls...subsanitary...to top it all off...noise at 3am coupled with marihuana smoke coming from next door...I call the front desk and they say they can't do anything because they're oversold even though I had booked way in advance and had specifically asked for a non-smoking room...this is by far the worst hotel stay I've had...writing this at 6:39am because I couldn't sleep and my luggage wreaks of smoke...disgusting!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    148
    55
    15
    14
See reviews for
140
74
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a business meeting. It was convenient. This la Quinta was cleaner than others however they did lack some attention to detail. Overall this was a good stay. Seemed recently updated or refreshed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Miami and to visit sawgrass mills, which is nearby.
Hotel reception was good, very friendly.
Our room was very neat and tidy, but had some rubbish in the bin. The room had a vague cooking smell to it.
Comfortable bed, had a good nights sleep. But Air conditioning in the bathroom was very noisy.
Breakfast wasn't too bad but not a lot of choice, a few boiled eggs and muffins!
Overall not a bad hotel for one or a couple of nights stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

An average LQ, OK for overnight. Just average cleanliness, room was quite OK but you can see few hairs in bathroom etc. Bad experience in breakfest, 20 mins before closing half of items was gone, no replacement, no person around, once the breakfest time was over, there were immediately two people to take all stuff out. Tables quite dirty.
In overal, I would survive there for a night if need to stay on my way, but would preffer to look somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were going to a concert at the BB&T Center a year ago and were told to stay at the La Quinta in Sunrise. It's pet friendly (one person in our party had a small dog), very close to the stadium and fairly priced for what we thought we were getting.

The problem was in the morning there was no hot water in two of our rooms. The front desk apologized and even offered to refund our stay, but then said they couldn't "because we booked it through a third-party site." Fine, we could live with a cold shower.

So yesterday (2/25/2013) we went back for the same reason, a concert. This time we booked 4 rooms. Well everybody had hot water, but in our room when we went to plug in a computer, we found trash from Starbucks behind the couch. GROSS.

In the morning, as we were getting our things together, we noticed there were two pairs of shoes (crocs) that were pushed underneath the desk...and they weren't ours! When the maids supposedly clean the room, they didn't even bother to vacuum under the desk. Who knows how long they've been sitting there. GROSS.

We told the front desk and they seemed genuinely surprised and said they would take care of it. We were checking out so we just wanted to get on our way.

To their credit, everyone at the front desk was very pleasant during our check-in and in helping us with everything. We did not ask for a refund (remember last time) we just wanted to get on the road home.

If the room had actually been clean (no trash behind the couch and without four shoes under the desk!) I would have given this a 3 star rating. But with the combined experience of no hot water and no refund on the first trip, then a really dirty room this trip, I can only give it 2 stars. If I were paying $50 a night I could live with crap. But at $120 a night, I expect a maid to run a vacuum through the room.

If you stay at this hotel, don't expect hot water, don't expect any kind of refund if they screw up and you don't book directly, don't expect your room to be clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The beds are SUPER comfortable. The first morning we were there, I was woke up by some noisy staff doing laundry down the hall and doors closing every few minutes. This was around 8 am. My husband nicely mentioned it to the front desk manager. She was very nice, apologized and reimbursed our night! Then she moved us to a room on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel. The rooms are very clean and all of the staff are very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills

Address: 13651 Northwest 2nd Street, Sunrise, FL 33325
Location: United States > Florida > Sunrise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Sunrise
La Quinta Sunrise
Sunrise Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.