We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great German Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Castle Tavern

Old Castle Tavern
3830 Sun City Center Blvd, Sun City Center, FL 33573
813-633-6900
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wimauma, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Great German Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had rolladen the meat was very tender and tasty. We also had a little weiner schnitzel appetizer they were wonderful never had any better. We also had a beef soap that was almost like a stew. i never had anything like that before, it was excellent. The apple strudel was as good as any I have ever had.
I retured for lunch a week or so later and had a brat also very good with very good german potato salad. I though it unusual to use mayo with a brat but it made for a unique sandwich.
This place is just as good as the best german restaurants I have been to we will be there many more times.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimauma, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I have ate here twice. Love the food! Prices are reasonable! The presentation of the food is wonderful! Great flavor, great service and we will be back again!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great authentic German food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stopped in for lunch and was very pleasantly surprised. Brought back memories for Germany for both my wife and myself! Very small, reasonable prices, decent portions. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Amazing German Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This small German restaurant in an unassuming strip mall is the real deal! It features authentic German fare in a charming and intimate setting. We were even treated to live music from a lederhosen-clad accordian duo.

Everything served to our party of four was delicious and nicely presented. The jager schnitzel is the best I have ever eaten. Also of note -- the red cabbage, the potato pancakes, and, especially, the spaetzle -- all to die for! Entrees are priced in the $15 range. They serve German beer and wine at very reasonable prices -- my glass of Riesling was $4.95!

Excellent food, great service, delightful ambiance -- perfect combination!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
2 reviews
“you must know German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

excellent food, great service and warm atmosphere, but a small restaurant. not condusive to large numbers.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Castle Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Old Castle Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Castle Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.