We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic German food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Castle Tavern

Old Castle Tavern
3830 Sun City Center Blvd, Sun City Center, FL 33573
813-633-6900
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great authentic German food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stopped in for lunch and was very pleasantly surprised. Brought back memories for Germany for both my wife and myself! Very small, reasonable prices, decent portions. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Amazing German Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This small German restaurant in an unassuming strip mall is the real deal! It features authentic German fare in a charming and intimate setting. We were even treated to live music from a lederhosen-clad accordian duo.

Everything served to our party of four was delicious and nicely presented. The jager schnitzel is the best I have ever eaten. Also of note -- the red cabbage, the potato pancakes, and, especially, the spaetzle -- all to die for! Entrees are priced in the $15 range. They serve German beer and wine at very reasonable prices -- my glass of Riesling was $4.95!

Excellent food, great service, delightful ambiance -- perfect combination!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
2 reviews
“you must know German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

excellent food, great service and warm atmosphere, but a small restaurant. not condusive to large numbers.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ate there about 3:00 p.m. on a Sunday. It was not very busy and the service was excellent. We were surprised to be offered an early bird discount of 10% off our entire bill. The schnitzel dinner I had was very good. Everyone at our table had a variation of the schnitzel dinner. Nice large portion. I enjoyed the rest of mine the next day at lunch. One person at out table ordered the hot berries and ice cream for dessert. It looked so good and he said it was delicious. I had no room to sample though. If you like german food you need to go here! If you have never tried german food, this is a great place to see if you will like it! I will be back to sample more of this menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING GERMAN CUISINE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I had been looking to eat some really authentic German food and I found it here. IT WAS DELICIOUS!I had the sausage plater, it was outstanding. The sauerkraut was "out of this world". My mother had the schnitzel and it was also fantastic. The amount of food was just right. As if the food was not good enough we ordered an apple strudel, which was not only delicious but breathdatingly beautifuly displayed. I loved eating here. They had minimun staff but the waitress was very diligent and brought us our food in a timely manner. A lady from my aunt's living community accross the street recommended this place - THANKS!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Castle Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Old Castle Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Castle Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.