We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive portion of Tuna and well worth the wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Bar & Grill

The Wharf Bar & Grill
25163 Overseas Hwy, Summerland Key, Lower Keys, FL 33042-4627
305-745-3322
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Winter Haven, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Massive portion of Tuna and well worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We ate at the Wharf with a party of 8. There was no wait for a table when we walked in and drinks came quickly. However, we waited for some time for orders to be taken and our appetizer came out after the salad. Food was a wait but well worth it. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you enjoy fresh fish. They clean and serve the fish caught that day. My brother had the hugest portion of tuna I have ever seen. The clam chowder we ordered was the best I have had. Everyone's meal was prepared well and enjoyed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    106
    39
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing! Food, iguanas, service and atmosphere a MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This gem right off the hwy was fantastic! The food, ambiance and service was a key stop for lunch on the way to key west from marathon! Highly recommend! You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“horrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

there was a party of seven of us the waitress didnt write anything down. Im awaitress too and also do this sometimes so i wasnt worried. I asked our waitress what came on the blackened fish sand lettuce, tomato, onion? She said yes so i ordered it. My sandwich came out w a healthy helping of tartar sauce. Everyoe else at the table was eating there food and enjoying it. So i scraped the fish from the bun and asked our server for a new one. You know what she brought me a piece of bread no set up with it. Needless to say i didnt eat it just sat there w a piece of fish on a bun never eating and she didnt even check on me to see why. I got a box didnt complain or anything but i will never be back. This is really sad bc i live in key west the food is really good and always recomend it to ppl the service was horrible though. there are too many other places down here with food just as good and with way better service

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always good seafood meals & appetizers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Great place for lunch or dinner... dining outside overlooking the water is great when there's a breeze. Spotted about 20 iguanas basking in the sun when we were there. Good peel & eat shrimp, fried lobster basket, & the fried banana cheesecake was great! One of our favorite spots in the Lower Keys.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have been here many times. Always enjoyed the food but have become increasingly annoyed by their encouraging tourists to feed the invasive iguanas.
That being said we recently went for lunch. Arrived around noon. Asked for the specials. The waitress said they would be ready soon. After 20 minutes we asked again. We were told she was having issues. Now does that mean no pen and paper. No food. What? When I turned my head to look for our waitress, the female chef gave me a sarcastic wave. We said Outta here. By 1 pm if you don't have your specials listed you don't deserve to be open. We left and went to square grouper for a great lunch with an excellent staff. Will not be back to the wharf.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf Bar & Grill also viewed

Summerland Key, Lower Keys
Sugarloaf Key, Florida Keys
 
Cudjoe Key, Florida Keys
Summerland Key, Lower Keys
 

Been to The Wharf Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.