We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's St John's Seafood

Sam's St John's Seafood
17860 SE 109th Ave, Ste 614, Summerfield, FL 34491
352-307-7387
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Summerfield
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Summerfield, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good place for seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We eat here when we want seafood and don't want to drive. The food is always great, but it's a mostly fried menu. They do serve beer, but bottled only and no "Happy Hour" specials. A daily favorite is the "All you can eat" shrimp for $14.99. They also have great fried green tomatoes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    32
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good Down South Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The catfish was great. If tasted fresh, the grease didn't taste old, and the portion for more than fair for lunch. The hush puppies were excellent. The green beans were no quite to my likening. A bit too much on bacon and lacking in flavor. The price was also fair. This is not a gourmet eatery, but most of the food really is good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Considering this place is located inland, the seafood is quite good. We were impressed with the variety on the menu since nothing would be a 'catch of the day'. I was part of a large group and the staff accommodated us well. Everyone was pleased with their meals, the service and the atmosphere. I had the grilled mahi and found it to be a thin piece of fish on a bed of rice that was too fine. I ordered a baked potato for a side and it was the biggest thing on the plate! The whole meal was good and it was filling but I was not impressed since the place boast seafood - others really enjoyed the scampi, scallops, etc so maybe I shouldn't have ordered fish. In any case, the fact that you could order your food grilled, fried or broiled was a big plus!! Lots of choices of sides and free ice tea! I'm not writing it off yet. I will return and try something else on the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We recently came here looking for a casual spot to have lunch. We were very impressed. The seafood was good quality, considering not being near the ocean. I had the broiled cod, my daughter had the grilled mahi, and my mom had the fried shrimp. They were all lunch specials and were all very good. The hushpuppies that they came with were huge, and the service was decent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stop in for your seafood fix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Located at the north end of The Villages on Hwy 441, and not many places nearby to get a seafood fix, so having seen their ads in the local paper I thought I'd stop by. It was almost 2pm but there was still a steady stream of customers stopping by for a later lunch, like me. I like the homey, New England décor, and casual atmosphere. It's in a strip shopping center across from Wal-Mart so we're not talking a shiny new chain clone here. There's always Cracker Barrel down the street for those folks.
The waitresses were cheerful, the service prompt, and the cashier was genuine in asking about my experience. I chose the popcorn shrimp, of which I should have taken home a "to go" box, but didn't. They melted in your mouth and I decided they would taste better now rather than reheated. In my defense, I chose green beans and cole slaw as sides, rather than fries. Only the hush puppies were rather heavy and lukewarm. No problem, after one bite, I was glad to forfeit them for the plateful of shrimp anyway.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's St John's Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sam's St John's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's St John's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.