We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay just out of Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarloaf Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sugarloaf Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugarloaf Lodge
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   17001 Overseas Hwy, Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042   |  
Hotel amenities
Holly Springs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay just out of Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Sugarloaf Lodge is one of those places you would probably pass by if you were looking for a place to stay and hadn't planned ahead. That would be your loss. Although it doesn't look like many of the modern chain motels it is a wonderful place to stay. Family owned for forty years, the rooms are neat and clean, the beds are excellent, and the furnishing are comfortable, even though you feel like you have stepped back in time to the seventies. The Tiki bar is a great place to hang out with other guests and locals, in a friendly laid back atmosphere you won't find if you go the 17 miles into Key West. You can throw a line in from their dock or just hang around the pool as you enjoy the beautiful Florida Keys as they were before multi thousand passenger cruise ships overran the place. For those of you looking to fly your own aircraft down, their airport, Sugarloaf Shores, is a half mile walk from the Lodge, but of course they will pick you up upon your arrival. Then you can ride the public bus into Key West and save the $4 per hour parking fees, and the attendant driving hassles. And unless you really just want the hassle of Key West everything you need is right here, including their tenant restaurant Zaza, which has great food at prices that are 30% less than in KW.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    46
    19
    11
    18
See reviews for
33
51
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is an older style motel with furnishings right out of the 1960's. It's clean and a fair bit cheaper than staying in most spots in Key West. We stayed here prior to taking a ferry to the Dry Tortugas and it only took 25 minutes to the dock despite a slow construction zone and am traffic. The motel is set back from the highway a couple of hundred feet and with the fan on you don't even hear the tiki bar adjacent to the motel. The bar has a cast of characters that would do old Ernest H proud, bikers, Alaskans searching for another end of the road place, business people, and hippies. Try the Sugarloaf Punch for a 5-rum wallop but best not to drive if you have more than one! Live music most nights. The beds are a bit on the firm side and the sheets were clean but not very high quality. Some of the lights had issues but in general a good deal for the money considering its proximity to high dollar Key West.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altanta, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay here in January, 2013. Found the Tiki bar, the rooms and the location to be exactly as advertised. Slept really well in our comfortable room, found the staff pleasant and helpful, and appreciated the flash-back feeling of the decor. For being in the Keys during high season, the price was well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went to Key West for a few days over New Years. We had planned to camp but it was extremely windy so we decided to try and find a place to stay. We did on-line searches and made phone calls. We couldn't find anything close to Key West. What we did find was much higher in the Keys and cost at least $300 a night or more.

As we were driving down HWY 1, we looked over and saw Sugarloaf Lodge - AND - they had a vacancy sign posted. We whipped the car into their parking lot and went inside.

They gave us a key so we could go look at the room first. We did and we were very satisified. Not only that - it was less than half the price of anything we had found!

Is it a new and flashy hotel? No
It's an older hotel but everything was clean. Our room smelled very fresh. Things don't have to be brand new to be nice!

The staff was friendly and definitely know the value of offering good customer service. We would stay there again - by choice, not because it was the only vacancy. LOL

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked 3 rooms at Sugarloaf Lodge for our party of 6, thinking it would save us a few dollars over prices in Key West. We were really disappointed with our stay. The cleanliness of the rooms left a lot to be desired and there was a strong musty smell as well. Our toliet was plugged and would not flush. This motel has seen its better days and is in desperate need of some updates and repair. The one thing they have going for them is their Tiki Bar. It was a nice place to relax after a day of travel and sightseeing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sugarloaf Key hotels

Dumfries, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My friends and I wanted to stay close to Key West, but not pay Key West prices. The Sugarloaf Lodge seemed to meet those needs. The "motel" office building looks rundown. I'm sorry I didn't get a picture of it. The rooms had a fair amount of rust. The shower curtain rod was rusty, but the shower curtain had no mold on it. Just putting in the curved rods would go a long way to help the bathroom. The vanity was loose. We didn't walk barefoot on any floor in the room. Painting the walls would have been nice.

After seeing the ice machine, I was glad my tetanus shot was up to date. It was very, very rusty.

We were on the first floor. The A/C unit from the room above dripped on our unit most of the night. Very annoying.

Room Tip: Pick a room farther away from Tiki Bar if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Yes to all reviewers regarding decor, also very clean. but in December the sun sets behind the trees, cant see it, and the water front was not much to inspire. That said, good value, close <but NOT minutes) enough to Key west. Right next door to an Italian place Zazas, reviewed elsewhere. This is good because you can walk to a great meal. And not worry about the local police.

Room Tip: Avoid the ends we were in 410 which was upstairs and in the middle. One end has the water treatment...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugarloaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Lodge

Address: 17001 Overseas Hwy, Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Sugarloaf Key
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sugarloaf Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugarloaf Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugarloaf Logde is a family run, 31 unit waterfront resort in the Florida Keys 13 miles from Key West. All of our rooms face the water with sunset views and if you have a boat you can park it behind your room. The lodge has a Tiki Bar, marina, pool, tennis courts, and airstrip. We are pet friendly and are perfect for families, kayakers and flats fisherman. A fifteen minute drive from all that Key West has to offer without the crowds and high prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sugarloaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarloaf Hotel Summerland Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugarloaf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.