We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of District Table and Bar

District Table and Bar
900 SE Indian Street, Stuart, FL 34994
772-324-8357
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 225 Restaurants in Stuart
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Gastropub, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: District Table and Bar is a seasonally driven restaurant that has a changing menu based upon the availability of products of local farmers and fishermen. District has opened its doors to their customers on April 18th, 2013.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Very Special Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were three for dinner on 8/20/14. New to the area, our accompanying friend recommended District, and simply put, we loved it. The menu changes frequently, depending on market availabilities, and on the night we dined my girlfriend ordered the "Teres Major" cut of beef, and I had the Sebastian Inlet Clams. For appetizers, we shared crabmeat and corn fritters and truffle fries. Everything was delicious! We also enjoyed a bottle of Pinot Grigio with dinner - fyi only beer and wine are served.
Our server, Scott, was very knowledgeable and friendly. With gratuity, the bill came to about $200 for three, money well-spent for a special meal with a good friend. The ambience was on the loud side - but it seemed as if all of the diners were really enjoying themselves!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    18
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The District Table is just getting with age.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

DT is one of our go-to spots for date night. Consistently lovely servers, who are well trained and knowledgable about what they are serving (local when available, sustainably raised/sourced ingredients). They are quick to offer suggestions and it is clear that everyone here enjoys what they are doing and where they work.
We almost always order a few small plates, a wine from the crib list, and the DT burger (just do it! No matter what incarnation is on the menu that week, it's always fantastic).

Desserts can be hit or miss? But that's just our experience and kind of nitpicking, to be honest. The Oceana coffee from Tequesta is ridiculously good and served to you in a French press- such a nice touch.

We were there on Saturday and had a fried chicken liver appetizer done "buffalo style" with shaved celery and a spicy dab of sauce- PERFECT. The oysters are always fresh and their mignonette is fantastic and spicy cocktail/sriricha based sauce is amazing on their French fries- which also change weekly!

They have a lovely little bar so I do not hesitate to recommend going solo! The bartenders will serve you something delicious and don't mind if you try and bunch of things. Such a great spot- so happy to see them succeeding because everyone is clearly invested at this establishment, even in the "off-season" when most places lose their good servers to other busier spots. Bravo.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Food-But Oversells”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had heard about this restaurant from time to time and decided to try it last night. Pleasant enough with competent staff. However, we felt like we were at a car dealer when we were told by the waiter when discussing our wine order that there was only one more bottle of whatever and he really would like to get it served. When asked how much, he responded, "$88.00." I declined and then asked about our preferred price point. Well, for one thing, while a fairly nice restaurant, it is not an $88 bottle of wine place when diners are in shorts and flip-flops. Then, we were in the midst of our meals and Brian brought us the dessert menu explaining how some desserts take 25 minutes to prepare. A little later, while we were still eating, he asked about our desserts. Our food isn't even consumed and we are being asked for our dessert order? Are we being rushed? It seemed so. We enjoyed the golden tile fish and fried chicken. However, bread is not complimentary, but rather expensive at $2.50 for four slices of kalamata olive bread and butter. Appetizers are interesting and priced about where you expect them. Will we return? Probably not. Not bad, just not great.The prices are typical of near-fine dining, but this restaurant is not near fine dining level.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Stuart Stupendous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place, besides having a Slow Food Snail Award, has a big-city ambience and menu, clientele younger than anywhere else, staff so proud of the place. Love it. Don't miss the FL street corn ....

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Something different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Went on a late Sunday afternoon so not many people there until later, but noise level made it difficult to have an easy conversation during the last half-hour we were at the table. The menu is interesting with offerings you do not see in most restaurants - so great to have something different in the area. The results of dishes were mixed with some being quite good and others being just ok. The one area which I think is a problem is that the prices are quite high for an inconsistent result and certainly much smaller serving sizes than you might expect. I usually order from the starter menu just for a small dish but these servings were even small for that! Not sure if I would return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed District Table and Bar also viewed

 

Been to District Table and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage District Table and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.