We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than their sister restaurant !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Diner

Key West Diner
1619 NW Federal Hwy, Stuart, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 236 Restaurants in Stuart
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better than their sister restaurant !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We ate here twice, service was good, food was okay. There is too much mayonaise in their tuna sandwiches, but in all fairness, I encounter that far too often. The diner looks clean, and the menu has a lot of options. Much better that their sister "Galaxy Restaurant" in the Publix strip mall on Kanner Hwy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good food.....BUT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had lunch there today. Turkey, lettuce, tomato sandwiches, one of us had fries, the other did not. Both sandwiches came with cole slaw. Sandwiches were $6.50, $2 extra for fries. What we didn't know, until we got the bill, that they charged us 75 cents each for a slice of tomato on the sandwich. Come on, guys, give me a break. I could buy a pound of tomatoes here in Florida for the $1.50 you charged me! Now if we bought the Turkey Triple Decker Club for $8.50, I would have gotten an extra slice of bread, lettuce, tomato and bacon, plus french fries and cole slaw . Something is "off" with their pricing structure. Nice decor, but I don't eat decor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This restaurant has provided consistently delicious food since it opened. I always love their steak and eggs. Sadly they seem to have a hard time with staffing as I rarely see the same waitress for long and thus service can be hit or miss.

The kids meals are on the pricey side when compared to similar restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and value :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts and decided to try it for lunch. The service is awesome, the food fresh, hot and a nice diner that we will continue to enjoy! Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our First Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a great breakfast. Eggs Florentine w/ Hash Brown Potatoes and Crab Cake Benedict w/ grits. All delicious! Good Coffee and Iced Tea. Excellent Service. We are looking forward to going back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Diner also viewed

 

Been to Key West Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.