We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful surprise along the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Inn And Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Monterey Inn And Marina to your Saves list
Monterey Inn And Marina
300 SW Monterey Rd, Stuart, FL 34994   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Stuart
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise along the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

If you are looking for a wonderful treat, try the Monterey Inn. A bit off the beaten path, but the best value we encountered during our trip.

We stayed in #212, one of their renovated rooms, which was decorated in apricots, sage greens and beautiful rich wood pieces - "gorgeous" would not be overstating the elegance and warmth of this room. It was furnished with a nice wing-back recliner, beautiful wood pieces, a spotless tile floor, a 4-poster bed with sheets smooth as butter, a frig & microwave, and light-weight terry cloth robes, and topped off with a crystal chandelier, seemingly out of place, but a perfect fit. We could have just tucked ourselves away for a few days.

Though our room didn't have a view and a few cars could be heard, it didn't phase us. Had we been able to stay for a few days, we may have asked for one of their other renovated "mini suites" overlooking the bay. They showed us photos of suites with a marine theme, golf theme, etc., all very different, but lovely.

They have standard rooms also, which are not unlike a typical hotel room elsewhere, but the prices were so reasonable, you wouldn't want to miss staying in one of their suites!

Continental Breakfast was the same as everywhere & didn't grab our interest, but they do have a bbq for grilling up your fresh-caught fish, with a nice outdoor sitting area overlooking the bay.

Quite often, when we hear "renovated", it means fresh paint and new carpet, but still lacking a nice mattress & linens, clean & functioning shower/tub, etc. This suite was truly renovated, meticulous, beautiful and just a delightful surprise.

  • Liked — The comfort, beauty & cleanliness of the suite for the price
  • Disliked — No view in the room & continental breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    13
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
21
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

Spent a week here while in Stuart on business. The staff is friendly, and so helpful . The king size bed was comfotable with good linens. Bathroom was small but the sink is located outside the toilet/shower room. Refrigerator was clean and worked well. We enjoyed sitting by the water in the evening and watching the boats on the river. Reasonable price for the quality.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed and room furniture
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

The Monterey Inn and Marina is located right on the water with great views and exceptionally nice rooms. There was a wonderful dockside patio, perfect for enjoying an afternoon drink while watching the boats. The staff was not only great in helping us select the perfect room, but was very friendly and efficient during our three day stay. When we return to Stuart, we will most assuredly stay there again.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, RI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

Older but fairly nice little motel on the water in Stuart. We upgraded to one of their better rooms -- decorated almost over the top with ornate armoire, fancy table lamps etc. The room was a little dark with all the dark furniture, but the four-poster bed was comfortable. Tiny bathroom but adequate.

Friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast was nothing to write home about, but overall the Monterey Inn was pleasant and satisfactory.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

Nice, clean, friendly staff. They were very nice and could accomodate our late checkout, but that was due to the fact that the room was unoccupied after our stay.

The room decor is interesting. More like a bedroom in a house than a hotel room. The bed linens were very nice and comfortable. A note should be made that this is one of the upgraded "deluxe" rooms that they advertise. I can't speak to the decor of the standard room.

On the downside it is right on the major thoroughfare at the foot of a bridge. Our room faced the road and it was very noisy. I thought the window was open at first, but alas it was merely the loud traffic filtering in. Turning on the air conditioner helped drown the sounds out alot. Try to get a bayside room if you can. Fortunately, traffic dwindles past 9 pm, so sleeping wasn't an issue.

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, this isn't it. But it is more than acceptable for a couple nights stay in a town where there isn't much to choose from.

  • Liked — Nice sheets
  • Disliked — Noisy traffic
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2006

This is a little "gem" when you're looking for small, convenient and no hassle! We've had the privilege of staying at this lovely little place on two occasions. On the second visit, we needed four nights and could only be sure of two nights, but owner Robert, worked very hard at juggling reservations after a cancellation and managed to let us stay in the room we were in. Small staff is very helpful and will do everything they can to make you comfortable. We highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2006

We live near the Monterey Inn and Marina and our favorite restaurant, Angelina's, is across the (busy) street from this Inn. Also, there is a CR Chicks in the same plaza with excellent spit roasted whole chickens to eat in or carry out.

Bottom line, you do not need to get back in your car to get a great meal while staying here (avoid Shell's on the corner though).

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Inn And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Inn And Marina

Address: 300 SW Monterey Rd, Stuart, FL 34994
Location: United States > Florida > Stuart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stuart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beside a peaceful cove on the south fork of the St. Lucie River, our 18 newly renovated, waterfront rooms offer a view of the Okeechobee Waterway. Our tradition of offering pleasant accommodations to our guests has continued for more than 25 years. Our new 12 slip Marina is available to our guests free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Inn And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Inn And Marina Hotel Stuart
Monterey Hotel Stuart
Monterey Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Inn And Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.