We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Ocean Bistro

East Ocean Bistro
2661 South East Ocean Blvd., Stuart, FL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 236 Restaurants in Stuart
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband, son and I had just left a nearaby restaurant that had an hours wait. Our car gps listed East Ocean Bistro as a nearby restaurant. When we arrived the place looked empty, just one couple at the bar. We ventured in. Two of us ordered from the daily special menu, and we were given a bottle of wine with our dinner.
The three of us had a most wonderful dinner. This place is a great find and I would recommend it to those who want an excellent dinner at a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sewall s Point, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Cute Bistro with a Great Menu Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent food with numerous daily special offers from a free bottle of wine to Sunset 3-course dinners at $14.95 per head. The best French Fries around, a snip at $2. I think there's an evening during the week, Wednesday I believe, when there is anything from 10%-100% off depending on the draw.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great find in Stuart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stumbled onto this place a few months ago while visiting clients in Stuart. The food is unbelievably good as is the service. It has the feel of a warm neighborhood spot which makes me come back each time I'm in Stuart. One of my favorite dishes I've eaten this year was the wild game meatloaf they served as a special. It was out of this world.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great little find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The restaurant is in a strip mall but do not let that hinder you. The quality of food is top notch and gourmet level. The service is too match. Took me a while to go in but it was well worth the gamble and would highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, odd service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were in the area for a very short vacation. This restaurant was highly recommended. We showed up in shorts and T-shirts, not having been told it was a nicer restaurant. The hostess insisted we stay and sat us at the bar. My husband had tortellini with shrimp and I had the filet. Both were excellent, as were both of our salads. The beer choices were numerous, though there were several they were out of. The staff were obviously hustling and the place was nearly full. All positives aside, I still can't figure out what our server/the bartender was thinking. The restaurant offers a prix fixe menu until 6:00 pm. When we sat down, we were offered the prix fixe menu, as well as the dinner menu. At some point, after she took our beer order, our server determined the time for the prix fixe menu had passed and took those menus from us. We understood completely, UNTIL SHE THEN OFFERED IT TO SEVERAL OTHER CUSTOMERS, one who was obviously a friend. I was hungry, tired from travel, and it wasn't really worth kicking up a fuss. However, in hindsight, it's disturbing that a fairly new staff member would take it upon herself to decide who was special enough to offer the much cheaper menu. I heard her say several times that she had been there less than two weeks. At any rate, the food was really good, we enjoyed the piano music in the background, and probably would return.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Ocean Bistro also viewed

 

Been to East Ocean Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Ocean Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.