We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Neptune

King Neptune
4795 SE Dixie Hwy, Stuart, FL 34997
+1 772-287-9630
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 225 Restaurants in Stuart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Jamestown, RI
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Small, simple neighborhood fish place. Really fresh fish, well prepared. Nice, cheerful staff. Often a wait for a table, but worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    46
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome food! Great mom and pop find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place is fantastic! I have always thought that the small mom and pop places are the best finds and this place did not disappoint! My husband and I went with our four month old. The place is very small with only about ten tables so we had to wait about 15 minutes but it was well worth it. I wasn't sure if there would be enough space at our table to put the baby's carseat but we were seated at a cozy table in the corner and we just put the car seat right on top of the table....a perfect fit!
We started with the sautéed conch and it was delicious. We also thoroughly enjoyed the chips and house made black bean salsa that were brought to us as soon as we sat down. The salsa was great! I also ordered two oyster shooters. The oysters were large, fresh and delicious. Well worth the price. We were obviously very hungry and this was one of those situations where our brains overestimated the sizes of our bellies because after all those appetizers we also each ordered entrees. We both had the hog fish. Mine had a macadamia nut crust which gave it a sweet and salty taste. It was perfectly cooked and the garlic mash and green beans that came with it were also great! My husband had the hog fish that came topped with crab meat. It also was good but a little drier. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meals and will definitely revisit this place if we are in the area. We highly recommend it if you are in the Hutchinson island/Stuart area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Good seafood but that's it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have no problems with the food. My seafood was excellent and my wife's steak good. The atmosphere is lacking. One of our pet peeves are people on cell phones. One customer was on his computer and cell doing business. A no no in a restaurant. The owner was present.
He should have stopped this.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
READING
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“King Craptunes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I don't know who the people are that previously reviewed this restaurant but, our experience was NOT plesant. One of our party of 4 read the reviews and wanted to try this place for awhile. We called ahead of time because we where eating a late dinner. They informed us that they closed at 9:00 but if we arrived before 8:15 that would be good. We arrived at 8:13. When we entered there was 1 available table so we sat there. After several minutes, a waitress gave us menus and took our drink order. They were out of or didn't have the first 3 beer selections on their menu that we ordered. When she finally returned with our drinks, we all order the special that Wednesday night which was all you can eat steamed shrimp. We were informed they were all out of shrimp, even the appetizer shrimp. This is a seafood house! The waitress was not happy or even pleasant to us. We were treated like we were imposing on her. After a short discussion about just leaving, we decided to stay. 2 people ordered the seafood bisque, which was lukewarm at best and only average. I ordered the hush puppies which were burnt, or from my restaurant experience, the frying oil was very old and in need of changing. We all order the steam clams which were decent. The following day, the 2 people that ordered the seafood bisque had ill side effects. We all agreeded that we would never go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Zion, IL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Sometimes great things come in small packages. It's hard to believe that the staff of this restaurant can prepare and serve wonderful meals in such a cramped space. We had to wait outside for 10-15 minutes to get a table but you can do that in Florida in February. Our scallops and mahi-mahi were as good as it gets. Wait staff is very courteous and helpful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Neptune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Neptune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.