We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible and scary” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Phipps Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stuart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phipps Park Campground
Save
You added Phipps Park Campground to your Saves list
2175 SW Locks Road, Stuart, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Palm Beach Gardens
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Horrible and scary”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I saw the reviews about it being loud because of I95 and the turnpike nearby but didn't think it would be that bad staying in an rv, but it was. Also, no sewer hookup. Also, very rude, scary and confrontational maintenance man and there was a group of campers at one of the campsites that looked like they lived there a long time in their group of tents almost like a homeless tent city. I didn't feel safe there. Only positive thing I can say is that is has a boat ramp if you have a boat to take out and some of the scenery is nice with the water views but that isn't enough to make me want to stay there ever again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Phipps Park~ The camp ground is very well kept, bathrooms are super clean, and the landspape in general is very photogenic. HOWEVER......there is a turnpike bridge and interstate bridge VERY close by and it is super noisy all day and all night! You can't hear a person talking to you 10ft away and trying to sleep at night.....HAHAHAHA....GOOD LUCK with that! Unless you have a RV or Trailer to help mute the noise.
No alcohol at these grounds. Who camps with out beer? And the staff is very noisy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

In spite of the rain every day we were there, this trip to Phipps Park had extra features. Not only did our grandsons meet some wonderful campers their own age, but we got to see and touch some of the rescued creatures from the Treasure Coast Wildlife Sanctuary. It was a special weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The Supervisor ( Joe Pilla ) cares for his campers. My wife noticed a problem in the womans restroom with the vent that looked straight into the shower area. She noticed on the outside under the vent they had placed thier propane tanks to wear someone could stand and look in without someone noticing ( taking showers ), she went straight to Mr..J Pilla and within two days the problem was solved.. If you want to stay at a very nice park and feel safe, Phipps Park is the place to enjoy your stay. Try for yourself.We will always come back to Phipps Park in the near future. where everything is wonderful and clean....

Room Tip: I'M using this to say the lots r very roomy and spacious. Thats why I rate this Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Fl
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed here for the first time a couple of years ago and were impressed with the upgrade being made to the park. New bathhouse and playground as well as boardwalks over some new man made lakes. We booked with Joe again, who is always professional and he got us right across from the playground as requested. Beautiful senery everywhere. One of the things we love about this campground is that it is ususally not busy...plenty of privacy (just by the lack of others, campsites have no folage other than palm trees)
We were so happy this time to see that the walkway accross the St Lucie Locks was open! We watched some boats go through (something I've done since I was a kid and it never gets old) and then went on both hiking trails across the way.
The only complaint I have is that the county should realize they are losing out on revenue by not charging a 1/2 day rate for campers who want to check out late. If no one is coming into the site for the next night, why not let campers stay and earn a little more money?
We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We were looking forward to camping with the kids (we have four)---and thought Johnathan Dickensen would be perfect. But they were full!---Full for several weekends off, and I had my heart set on using the tent we seem to store. I checked Phipps---and they had plenty of openings!----We were partially expecting the site to be ho-hum due to the plenty of open spots on a holiday weekend. I was so impressed first with the lot sizes. They give you plenty of room to park your vehicle and boat -- we had a huge 4 room tent and a smaller 2 person tent -- a canopy -- they provide a picnic table and fire ring--the fire ring has an attached grill top. The bathrooms were clean! The playground was new and had a gorgious park surrounding it. The walkways through the park are lovely and easily accessed for any age. We camped on the sites with the 10 foot drop off behind -- Our son is autistic and tends to wander off looking for such spots as these, so I was a bit worried after reading these reviews before we left. There are trees and bushes that create a wall of sorts and none of my kids went near back there. The boat ramp is great!......The only down point I noted is that you are rather close to the interstate, so you hear passing traffic. It is not so loud to disturb your sleep though, and I hardly noticed it. I am looking forward to going back to Phipps Park---we are trying to plan a 3 day weekend there in March!----There are also canoe and kayak rentals within 5 miles down the road----for 26 bucks you get everything you need and the entire day to paddle around! All in all-----We had a blast here----so peaceful and beautiful---and more then accomodating!-----
And as for the manager----he registered us----seemed a bit fussy about rules---but we weren't breaking any and had all of our ducks lined up---- we never saw him again. He had all information we asked---and was friendly!---Asked questions in a pleasent way about our family and wished us well!
We'll be back soon!
Also---ground is a thick grass---great for tenting it!-----

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daytona beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Little hard to book on line must register by creating an account. If this becomes a problem contact Joe Pilla by e-mail or leave voice message and he will call back. Campground sites are along Okeechobee Waterway many updates are on going. Couldnt have found a nicer campground if looking for open rustic area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phipps Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phipps Park Campground

Address: 2175 SW Locks Road, Stuart, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Stuart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Stuart
Also Known As:
Phipps Park Campground Hotel Stuart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phipps Park Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.