We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing quiet or peaceful about this place when we were there” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Steinhatchee Landing Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Steinhatchee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steinhatchee Landing Resort
Save
You added Steinhatchee Landing Resort to your Saves list
228 NE Highway 51 (GPS address), 203 Ryland Circle, Steinhatchee, FL 32359   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Bishop, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nothing quiet or peaceful about this place when we were there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

We stayed at Steinhatchee for several nights mid-week in the off-season and looked forward to being in a quiet, peaceful place, as they advertise. Unfortunately, there was nothing quiet or peaceful about it. The entire resort was an unbelievably noisy construction zone. I suppose we should have asked when we made our reservations, but the courteous, responsible thing for management to have done would have been to alert us to this issue before we made our reservations. The home we stayed in on the property was very spacious and comfortable, but we were forced to leave each day to escape the noise, and find peace and quiet elsewhere in this otherwise lovely part of Florida. Needless to say, we were very disappointed, and would never stay there again while construction is on-going. And from the looks of things when we were there, construction will be going on for quite some time.

  • Liked — the spacious, comfy house we stayed in
  • Disliked — terrible construction noise, all day, every day
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timbuktu, Mali
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

We have stayed at the Landing four times now and I can't say enough about the ambiance at the resort. I only have to mention two slight negatives in my review, but overall if you're looking for a quiet family getaway, this is the place for you.

Grounds: Beautifully manicured. Their selection and placement of foliage and shrubs make me long to have enough money to hire their landscaper to revamp my yard! All of the cottages are well-maintained on the outside in a really neat "cracker style." It's very Disney-esque.

Things to Do: There is a petting zoo with bunnies and goats, two donkeys in a separate area that are very friendly (bring some fruit or veggies if you want them to approach you with gusto), canoeing, kayaking, bike rentals, a gigantic pool, a fitness center, a hot tub and sauna, shuffleboard, a kids' playground. The list just goes on. There is also a really neat wedding chapel and a gazebo + koi pond behind it if you're thinking of having a wedding there. They have a conference center steps away from the chapel where you can hold your reception and they will provide the food as well (I believe). In all reality, just wandering around the resort is a treat in itself.

FYI: There is a small grocery store in town, Mason's, that is very close to the resort. Also, there are a couple of restaurants, a bank, two bars I believe, and two gas stations (one is at Mason's) in Steinhatchee as well.

Inside of the Cottages: You will find beds, dressers, linens, silverware, some cooking utensils, televisions, toity paper, and the majority of the items you'd expect in a rental house. Bring whatever you think you may need though as not every house is fully stocked (paper towels, roll of tape, scissors, etc.).

The only two cons to me are:

#1 - Twice now we've had issues with the nightly rate and I've had to ask them to explain the difference in price when I booked versus when I checked out. It's merely human error and they have always apologized and promptly fixed the error, but I feel like I have to be on guard now and that annoys me. Bottom line is to get a copy of your receipt when you check out and make sure the price matches what you were quoted.

#2 - Cleanliness in the cottages has been an issue with two of our stays. This last time, we were in one of their older cottages and perhaps that was the issue. It was very dusty and there was mildew on one of the bathroom shower curtains. Yikes. Anyway, we cleaned up as much as we could in anticipation of a party we were having there and I can honestly say that the dirt wasn't so bad that our guests would have noticed it.

Overall, Steinhatchee is a really neat place and the Landing only improves it. Those two gripes of mine are very negligible when compared to what the resort really does afford to us: Quality time with family.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

We were initially pleased upon entering the cottage, even with the seemingly high $300 per night cost. When we tried to take a romantic bubble bath, the water was scalding hot and there seemed to be no connection for cold water at all. When we tried to shower the next morning we had the same scalding hot experience; no cold water was coming out of the faucet. The kitchen is truly a one-person kitchen; there's not even room for the two of you to be in there at the same time. A sign on the air conditioning thermostat warned us not to adjust the temperature whatsoever for fear that it would stop working altogether. There was also a family of squirrels that had made their home in the crawl space below the roof of the cabin and they kept us up all night scratching and nesting. If you're into scalloping and fishing and getting close with nature maybe this is the place for you, but I'd at least recommend getting a big cottage, as the kitchens in the bigger cottages are roomier and have separate living rooms. Our friends stayed in a 3 bedroom cottage that was the same price as our one-room cottage. Let's just say we expected at least 3 star hotel quality and don't feel that we got anywhere close to that. This cottage was in need of some major renovations and we won't be going back......

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcola
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

t was a really nice place. Very quiet and relaxing.

  • Liked — Relaxing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

I lived in Florida for 30 years and had never been to the Big Bend area on the Gulf of Mexico. What a surprise to find this place. It takes some doing to get to but once there, I really enjoyed staying in a 'cracker cottage' along the river. I do not fish or boat much but really just enjoyed the tranquility of the entire area. Did some biking through the town and had a great couple of days. The resort is well-maintained and clean.

  • Liked — Cracker cottage was roomy with a kitchen and 2 bathrooms
  • Disliked — No concerns
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2007

They really have a great thing going here! I've lived in Florida all of my life.... We've done the beach thing, Orlando, and other places.... This is a totally unique place. Really makes you feel "old Florida". There are none of the tourist traps you find in other places. It's the PERFECT getaway for our 10th anniversary. We rented one of the honeymoon cottages, but are planning to go back next year with our entire family (parents, kids, everyone!) and rent one of the large houses. Oh yea, since there's a full kichen, we made a couple of romantic meals while we were there. But you have to eat at Roys while you're in town... The crab bisque is out of this world!

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

We stayed at the resort over the Memorial Day weekend. We really enjoyed ourselves. It was like being in a little fairy tale village. Everything was so nicely landscaped and very charming. We stayed in the Bell House and is was wonderful. Everything was like new and very clean and nicely appointed. Big Kitchen, eat in area, living room, and the teenagers liked having their own bed and bath upstairs with full cable and dvd player! My younger children loved the pool and petting area. We also visited Steinhatchee Falls, very neat, everyone swam in the river, but bring bug spray! We also went to Peacock Springs, which are several very pristine blue pools in the middle of the woods, not for little kids, but my kids 5 and up all enjoyed swimming in the gorgeous water. They all played tennis and took walks on the meandering paths at the resort and hung down on the dock. Yes, there is construction going on all around, some new cottages going up and some work down by the pool, but it never bothered us. We would defintely stay there again and again! Very relaxing and laid back. Say hi to the horse (Rex) and the donkey (Ellie May) when you visit!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steinhatchee Landing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steinhatchee Landing Resort

Address: 228 NE Highway 51 (GPS address), 203 Ryland Circle, Steinhatchee, FL 32359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Steinhatchee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Steinhatchee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steinhatchee Landing Resort is a family-style, riverfront vacation retreat on the Gulf Coast in Steinhatchee, FL. Cottage rentals are available in 32 individual one- to four-bedroom units, and is located just three miles upstream from the Gulf of Mexico and along the Steinhatchee River. Bring your boat and fishing gear, or, allow us to make arrangements with a local fishing guide for a chartered fishing trip. Steinhatchee Landing Resort's cottages provide full kitchens for cooking up your fresh catch and the property is located minutes from two local restaurants - Fiddler's and Roy's - where they will cook your catch for you. Special Offer! From September 10, 2014 through June 15, 2015, Steinhatchee Landing Resort is offering a 30% discount off the weekend rate for a three night reservation. For those staying four or more nights, the discount will be 50% off the weekend rate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steinhatchee Landing Hotel Steinhatchee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steinhatchee Landing Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.