We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Southern Barbecue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny’s BBQ

Sonny’s BBQ
230 South Temple Avenue, Starke, FL 32091 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
904-964-8840
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Starke
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Real Southern Barbecue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Sonny's in Orange Park on Kingsley Avenue could learn a lot from this place. The staff were very inviting and pleasant. The salad bar was clean and fresh with many items to chose from. The chicken was cooked throughout but juicy. The sliced pork was tender and had a hardy smoke flavor and was also juicy. We were too full to try the dessert.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Mo H, thank you for the great 5 star review! We're glad to hear that you enjoy our BBQ and friendly service. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California, United States
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Average for Barbecue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

It is, of course, a true fact that barbecue is superior to all other food genres, and since that is the case, Sonny's, by extension, is superior to all other non-barbecue restaurants. Now, having said that, when it is compared to America's great smokehouses -- and I'm thinking about Pierce's Pitt Barbecue in Virginia; Craig's BBQ in Oklahoma; Bo's in Lafayette CA; the Rendezvous in Memphis; etc. -- Sonny's must be described as average.

The chicken was well prepared and tender, but lukecold. The sweet pork ribs were slow cooked and bone-falling-off, but a little too sweet. The coleslaw was decent but not better than that, and the cornbread was forgettable.

It didn't help that it took more than a half hour after I ordered it for my meal to arrive.

Probably better than any restaurant in Starke, but still.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Steven F, thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you decided to give us a try but sorry that our BBQ was not up to your expectations. Let us help! Send us an email at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with details, including the location, so that we can address the issues you had encountered with your meal. We would greatly appreciate your feedback and hope that we can make it up to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the best of Sonny's chain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

When I worked in FL as a radio test engineer I ate here many times for lunch. It was good then. Fast forward 10 years and we ate there again for nostalgia's sake - it is still excellent. It is a Sonny's and has the same fare but some how it is different but better than normal

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Visited this Sonnys for dinner. As we were driving through this town of Starke. We were greeted by a very friendly and attentive waitress Miranda. Our food which was the combo chicken and ribs,were presented very well,and tasted excellent. This has to be one of the best sonny restaurants we've been to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Trish T, thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our chicken and ribs meal and our friendly service. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best bar-B-Q in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The only Bar-B-Q restaurant in Starke, Florida. Family Owen. Great old fashion service they greet you with a smile. You have to try the salad bar. All the items are fresh the roasted pecans are a must the salad is not complete unless you try them.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Sylvia739, thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you're a fan and appreciate your support. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny’s BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny’s BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny’s BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.