We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for brunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Larios - CLOSED

Casa Larios
5859 SW 73rd St, South Miami, FL 33143-5243
305-662-5656
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean, Spanish, Cuban
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went with a group for brunch, the pastilitos and empanadas were great! Definitely get the potatoes with your meal, best part. Most of the guys enjoyed the scrambled egg mix, #4 on the menu. Everyone also enjoyed the coffee, of course!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    29
    7
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“it is what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Fun place to go in the morning (noonish if you are cuban) in South Miami for a very authentic cuban experience. Cafe con leche, pastilitos, at the walk up counter/bar. Nice outdoor seating. As far as cuban food goes its is nothing special for Miami, and has gone a bit down hill as of late. But for out of town, worth a stop by, if not just for the experience. On the weekends they have a Salsa band and its great to watch the locals tear it up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst fritas I've had in my life, made with slices of American bread! I wouldn't even feed the meat to my dogs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I ordered 6 fritas for my family who had a craving....... Never again will I order anything nor go to Larios! They were awful, not edible at all. First red flag was they came with 2 slices of American bread! The taste of the meat was not fit for my dogs, the fries were soggy. Bad choice . Then when I called to complain the waitress Marcia had a attitude and said "that's the way they are made" And tried to justify the situation! Then I really knew I had made the wrong choice in restaurants! I'll stick to El Mago de las Fritas next time They were closed that day!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Going bad real fast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Casa Larios used to be our favorite Cuban food restaurant. Chic, classic, fun, with good, reasonable priced food and good service. Over the past few month all of that has gone downhill faster than Lindsey Vonn and it makes us very sad because we were so fond of the place and the nice, hard working people that helped it become a local tradition. I am not even talking about an occasional mishap, which ANY restaurant can have. We have gone to lunch at Larios three or four times a week for years. Lately, the food comes to the tables already cold, the plantains are NEVER ripe, the rice is burnt, the beef dishes have unacceptable amounts of fat, you can smell the fish dishes from one table to another, even a grilled chicken breast fillet came with the porous, burnt skin still attached. The servers do their best, returning the dishes to the kitchen upon request, but it shouldn't have to take a customer returning something for SOMEONE, ANYBODY! to notice these things. To their defense I have to add, the desserts have not suffered the same sad fate and continue to be some of the most delicious anywhere. We decided last week to stop going to Larios for good, then we ran into some friends that used to go there all the time too. They confessed they also stop going to Larios after one of them got sick from a fish dish. My message to the ownership: ITS NOT TOO LATE, FIX THIS BEFORE IT IS!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Cuban family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Casa Larios is always good, has plenty of tables inside or outside on the covered patio. We live in South Miami and often take visitors here for a tasty Cuban meal; better food than other Cuban restaurants. Service is friendly, and they don't mind if you linger a while. Prices reasonable. Only drawback, sometimes the general crowd noise is too loud, happy diners with raised voices and it is hard to converse. Popular with families and large groups. Bar and live music later some evenings

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Larios also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Larios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.