We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gallo pinto in a Cuban restaurant? Don't miss it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Larios

Casa Larios
5859 SW 73rd St, South Miami, FL 33143-5243
305-662-5656
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 57 Restaurants in South Miami
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Gallo pinto in a Cuban restaurant? Don't miss it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Gallo pinto is a traditional black-beans-and-rice breakfast dish from Costa Rica and Nicaragua, here served at a restaurant that advertises "The Best Cuban Cooking in the Heart of South Miami." Inconsistent? Not in our Latin American melting pot. Try Lario's breakfast #5 -- gallo pinto, 2 eggs, and Cuban toast. Add cafe con leche, and you'll discover a Central American breakfast treat without having to hunt for your passport.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    29
    7
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

As another reviewer has noted, this is a great place for breakfast. The café con leche, the pastelitos, and the empanadas are very very good. Most breakfast entrées come with Cuban toast (a flaky buttery toasted Cuban bread) and a great cup of café con leche. The service is great the staff is friendly. Try to get a table in the patio – it is great to have breakfast outdoors.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My favorite breakfast Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I love to go there for breakfast, mimosas and all. The outdoor patio is very nice and I get to join my family and great food. Always have to return when in Miami

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Cuban food at any time of day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I regularly take out-of -town visitors here as they have good food at a good price and you can sit outside in a large breezy patio. The service is attentive and fast, but you are not rushed to decide or to eat and you can take your time to enjoy the atmosphere. I have eaten breakfast and lunch there on many occasions as well as just stopping at the window to get an espresso and a cuban pastry.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to get your Cuban food fix, for a great price too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I've been to this restaurant for the past three years every time I visit Miami. I've been for lunch and dinner on a weekend. Dinner on a weekend was very interesting and loud. They have a live band with Latin music which was very nice if you're looking for a place to dine for cheap while enjoying the "show". We had dinner in the terrace that night so we could actually have a conversation. I've also had lunch and the food has been consistently good. The prices are very reasonable, including the $ on the dinner menu. If you want a great mojito, try it here! Beware though, they are strong! Not the whimpy kind from other "American" bars. I've tried different plates from Ropa vieja, to Picadillo, the Fried Chicken or Port chunks and a sandwich. All very good! Great for family or a date. Parking is a bit tight and Valet seems to be the way to go, not expensive, but you'll have to pay a few bucks for it. Traffic to the place can be a problem depending on the time of day you go.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Larios also viewed

 

Been to Casa Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Larios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.