We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine if you're only staying one night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143 (Formerly Best Miami Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fine if you're only staying one night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel has a clean lobby and our room was also clean....however it was also freezing and there is not central heating/air. There is an airport shuttle from 6am to 10pm, but no one bothered to tell us we needed to call to let them know we were coming, so we ended up waiting a little over an hour before we ended up at the hotel. The drivers are great. SUPER friendly and knowledgable.

The help staff in the hotel were also very friendly and accommodating. They had a pretty large breakfast ready to go just before 6am in the lobby.

Our room was next to pipes or a boiler or something. Pretty loud. Internet doesn't really work. Overall, fine if you're in a pinch.

  • Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans3595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This location is ideal for a those needing to be close to Larkin Hospital, one block away. This older style three story building provided a good mattress, crisp clean linens, a clean slightly spartan serviceable room, efficient check-in, three working elevator banks. Parking in the building. There's an interior pool.
Lots within a 10-15 minute walk - Starbucks, Wholefoods, movies in a mall, good restaurants and interesting boutiques on Sunset. Metro a few blocks walk - big plus.
Perhaps one could complain that the rooms need more updating than a fresh coat of paint and new bedspreads but if you're coming to expensive Miami this offers you a reasonably priced stay with a few tolerable minor downsides. It's not pretending to be luxury so set your expectations properly.

Room Tip: shop the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micknmarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was a nice hotel with a decent breakfast, spacious rooms and comfortable beds. They offer free transportation to the cruise port as well-no complaints. Their airport pickup was another matter, however, we waited for over 1.5 hours and made 4 calls back to the hotel before the van finally arrived. The driver seemed quite disgusted and embarassed and we never did receive an apology from the front desk staff. Such a shame really because it turned out to be a nice place.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool and not the street, family across the street had noisy children
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horsechick81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ok good stuff first. Nice rooms. Clean and spacious, nice lobby, nice staff, nice breakfast, hot water a safe and a nice tv. Each room comes with a personal thermostat for guest comfort. The room comes freezing cold, like 50 degrees cold however, in Miami that is a good thing.

Now the bad. The cleaning lady took an original Samsung charger from my room. It is upsetting because something was in fact STOLEN from my room. The breakfast doesn't change in the slightest,,,,ever. Parking is not free, and you cannot prepay for it so at check in, there will be an extra fee. $8.00 a day. If you have a package arrive, have them check then double check. My package arrived my first night, and after insisting and showing proof of delivery, they found it,,,while I was checking out.

Stayed February 2016, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing works. Everything is broken. No customer service. Waited 2 hours for airport shuttle. Called four times. Got a different excuse every time. Breakfast was awful. Refused to honor quoted booking rates. If I could give this a negative rating it would be minus 100 out of ten!! Safe did not work. TV remote did not work. Phone did not work. Lamp was falling apart. Wall sockets had no covers

Stayed January 2016
Helpful?
Thank MamaBurks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pretty rough, outdated hotel.
PROS
-Beds were fine, clean
-Average noise level
-No carpet
CONS
-Extremely outdated
-Furniture is busted up and broken no attempt to even try and fix
-Stayed on a cold night, heater didn't work (couldn't sleep)
-Mold on floor, busted up laminate flooring

Im not expecting a 5 star hotel for this price but with a few simple changes it could be fine, there is just no effort put into maintenance and upkeep.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been in this hotel for seven days and the stay was great,good service maintenance personal, we also enjoyed the free breakfast , free and great wi-fi ,the stay was pleasant ,the entire staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Miami
Miami Dadeland Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kendall
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables

Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143 (Formerly Best Miami Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing