We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL value for low-maintinance travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Save Saved
You added Best Miami Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Miami Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in South Miami
Seattle
1 review
“WONDERFUL value for low-maintinance travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a week for low-budget vacation. There was a shuttle to pick us at the airport nearly two hours after I called, but it beats taking a cab. The hotel was a pleasant suprise after reading poor reviews. Clean room with microwave& minifridge, pool, free wireless (in lobby or poolside restaurant only), tasty-but-overpriced italian restaurant. Agree that continental breakfast was laking, but the restaurant does serve regular breakfast dishes for reasonable prices. *** 2 min. walk to train, mall w/ many shops & restaurants. Quiet neighborhood, felt safe. Close to Winn-Dixie & Whole Foods for grocery. Staff friendly and willing to give directions, suggestions to tourists like us. Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    37
    69
    66
    184
See reviews for
77
72
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cayman
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

[08:50:54] [-]: The bad reviews about this place are, if anything, understated. I have stayed in third world backpacker hostels with better security. I stayed here with my sister and we got hit on constantly by the staff and drunk men who were partying in the courtyard until 5am. The rooms are set around a courtyard prison style, and it looks like a first night stop for prisoner release schemes, with men in string vests smoking and drinking beer sitting on deck chairs outside their room doors. One morning the police hammered on our door and demanded entry looking for a felon at 7am, without hotel staff escots or explanation. Drunk/drugged guys tried to break into my room four times in the night, and I am no Beyonce. We had no sleep because of the music in the courtyard and the hammered guests wandering around shouting. When I told the front desk they just shrugged. The rooms are damp and filthy and the hot water was tempramental. There was no visable security. Each morning there were people sleeping rough by the pool. The safe and security lock to my door were both broken and there were police cars on the corner of the street every night. I am a well seasoned traveller but this place made my skin crawl. There is no way it should be AAA rated. And definately - DO NOT take children here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We have stayed second time in the financial year of 2009 - 2010 in this Hotel with teenager kids. Hotel and amenities are OK looking at the price you pay but BREAKFAST is worlds poorest with counted two toast and Tea/Coffee ONLY all above this is Payable EXTRA at a double the market price. Above this the restaurant Lady says they are obliging Hotel by serving the conted pieces of breakfast.

If you can tolerate such humilation stay in this HOTEL which is a very conveniently located less than 50 mtrs of South Miami METRO RAIL Station, local eatery joints are across the road with Chemist and Walgreen Department stores opened 24 Hrs. Other locations of Tourist interest are also nearby.

Staff is courtious and helpful. Hotel Pickup came to pickus up at the stipulated time. IN SHORT STAY IN THIS HOTEL AND HAVE BREAKFAST AT Mc Donalds across the street.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia,PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

I had read some of the reviews before my stay at the hotel and had thought some of the reviews were a bit harsh. Did not think the lack of internet and poor continental breakfast were reason enough to give the hotel a bad review, but after spending 4 nights at the hotel, I have say I agree with the reviews here posted. The hotel DOES smell like damp, the roof DID leak from the air conditioner and the pool was not heated. Something that I found a bit creepy was the fact that our room had a door that connected to another room...it was like rooming with a different group of strangers. The staff isnt very friendly and we were unable to use the shuttle at all as we arrived after 9pm and our departure flight was at 7:40pm. I have to say the people at the restaurant/bar were very friendly and had all the customer service skills that the hotel staff lacks. I wouldn't say this was the worse hotel ever, but it definitively isn't the BEST either.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

I'd rather camp out than to ever have to stay in this place. With the exception of a great concierge, the customer service at this place is dismal. Plus, the place smells bad - not a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Recommend this hotel to anyone who's on a budget or don't intend to rent a car.
Even though this hotel is not the cleaniest or fanciest of all, but its price-quality ratio is pretty high. I'll give 3 stars to the lounge & pool area, but 1.5~2 stars to the room. However, if you just want a room for stay, it will totally meet your need - TV, hot water, OK bed, OK free breakfast, etc. It even has a computer if you don't wanna bring your laptop. The best part is the location & free airport shuttle. If you want the shuttle service, don't email them, call them. I waited for about half an hour (a reasonable wait time for me)because the drive was dropping someone else to the port, and the van left @8am sharp when I left. Note: it only offers shuttle service from 8am to 9pm. Location is really good - an open mall & dining area that closes @11pm about 10 min walk, rail station 5 min walk, and I feel the area is kinda safe & quiet.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,mass
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

this was ok for the money- was close to plenty of places and convenient also. would stay there again for the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Miami Hotel

Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599
Location: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Miami Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Best Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Miami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.