We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Rooms, Bad Breakfast, Terrible Customer Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Best Miami Hotel to your Saves list
Best Miami Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty Rooms, Bad Breakfast, Terrible Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here one night before boarding a cruise in Miami the next day. This is one of the worst hotels I've stayed in. (On a road trip, I most recently stayed in a cheap, road side Super 8 in Biloxi, MS and that was the Ritz Carlton to the Best Miami Hotel.)

The Cons: The bathtub was stained black and mold covered the side of it. The sheets and blankets were stained. There were no curtains covering the windows. Just the sheers, someone actually removed the curtains. The TV was easily from the early 90's. The chest of drawers the TV sat on had two broken and chipped drawers. The customer service was horrible, there was a line out the door because nothing is automated. We watched the manager peek out at the line and then tell his employees "Goodnight". Breakfast consisted of cold instant eggs, instant orange juice, toast, cereal and questionable tasting sausage.

The Pros: Free shuttle to the Miami Port. (But make sure you mention that you need the shuttle as soon as you check in. It was packed to the brim and they left people behind to wait for the next shuttle two hours later.) Close to edible food and pleasant, non-moldy atmosphere. There is an outdoor mall within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    31
    47
    63
    183
See reviews for
92
81
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I read a lot of reveiws... and a lot of them were not good. Well, I needed a hotel for a descent price, and that offered shuttles from the airport and to the cruise port.
My options were limited for my January 1-3 stay being so close to New Years. So, I took a risk on it. And honestly, I'm glad I did.it was great for our purposes. Shuttles were great. Pool area was beautiful. As many reveiws made mention breakfast consists of toast... that's it! But there's an Einstein ' s Bagels 2 blocks from the hotel and a beautiful 3 story outdoor mall that has all your favorite stores (Victoria Secret, bath & body, even an AMC theatre). It was also nice that the hotel was within 5 minutes of the subway. We had easy access to all of miami. With all that said, this is not south beach. If your coming to Miami for south beach then you are about a half hour subway ride away. If you're just looking for a nice hotel with something to do for a day or two before your cruise this place is great. My mom said Miami was actually the highlights of her trip (we went on an 8 night Carnival cruise on the Breeze to the Eastern Carribbean adterwards!)

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here because of its proximity to the hospital. I knew we would spend little time in the hotel so I didn't want to pay a lot. Obviously we did not get one of the refurbished rooms. Ours was mildew smelling. It was very small. The AC was on one temp and we were unable to find a way to change it. The floor was dirty and damaged laminate. The drawer in the dresser was screwed shut. There was a micro but no fridge. The water in the lavatory sprayed everywhere when turned on. The man who checked me in failed to activate the keycard so I had to make a trip back to have it activated. The second day I had to make two trips down because the key card wouldn't work. After pending 13 hours in the hospital this was not what I needed. Also, our phone did not work. We needed a wake up call at 5:00 a.m. to go to the hospital. We were told maintenance would come up. They never did and when I called later on my cell we were told maintenance had left for the day, but that someone would wake us. In the interim I found a small alarm clock which awakened us. We did get a call too so apparently they fixed the phone on their end.
The entire place did not exude historic and elegant as much as dingy and neglected. We had 1 washcloth, 1 hand towel and 2 bath towels. The beds were not the worst I have experienced, but clearly not new. The window did not have a screen.
My husband said to give them 1 or 2 stars. The reason for the third is for the price and the location. It is still a convenient option. I needed a place from which I could walk to the hospital. It was about 6 blocks. We were told they offered a courtesy van to the hospital but when we arrived we were told they did not. I had to cab in the evening, but that was OK. The nurses at the hospital said a woman should not walk alone in that area at night.
The parking garage was convenient and only $8 a day. Internet in the room was sketchy at best.
If you need a good price and keep your expectations low this may be the place for you. The sheets and towels seemed clean. Everything else needed a good scrubbing.

Room Tip: If you don't like birds, ask for an interior room. We had a courtyard room and the little birds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires Argentina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were two nights and the hotel is beautiful but old. The are is a good one. The rail is one block away and the Sunset Mall is also a block away with many beautiful restaurants. The shuttle to the airport is perfect just what we needed. They are repairing the hotel my room was well painted. For this price I was happy with my choice Employees very nice.

Room Tip: There is no need for a car. WE went to Coral Gables, Coconut Grove by train great!! The shuttle is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The building is older but maintained well. The staff was friendly, and the location was perfect. It within walking distance of shops, bars, restaurants and movie theaters. There is a small continental breakfast included. I've seen the other reviews. and fortunately we did not encounter any similar problems.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenwood, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok I have been to hotels all over and came across some extremely bad ones, but I think that this hotel takes the trophy for being the worst, the service sucks the room smells like it has been flooded when we went in there there was blood in the tub, but the one thing that pushed me over the edge was I called for towels and could not get one because the linen room was locked so they told me to call back in the morning when I did they were washing the towels so for two days I could not get towels.

Room Tip: do not go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Miami hotels

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service was horrible, I requested an iron before I checked in. Never got it. Next morning, I asked for the iron was told I was on waiting list. Hotel toilet, shower need upgrade. I wanted to check out by the next day, they don't give refunds, manager never called me. End up checking out early anyway.

Never again....

Room Tip: Service was horrible, they do not give refund. We booked out early, no refund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Miami Hotel

Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599
Location: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Miami Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Best Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Miami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.