We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was skeptic of reviews but RUN AWAY from this piece of crap!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Save Saved
You added Best Miami Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Miami Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in South Miami
1 review
“I was skeptic of reviews but RUN AWAY from this piece of crap!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I've been in hotels and hostels all over the world but this hotel is just lame. Understaffed, that should tell you how clean the bed sheets could be. The room has an odor of old ciggarette. They charge you $8 per day for parking and a MANDATORY $2 fee for the safe, which they charge regardless you use or not. If you add up all that you can afford something better (holiday inn or alike) so the argument "you get what you pay for" does not apply because it ends costing a lot. Stay away from hotwire and "miami best (worse) hotel". I would rather use airbnb. I never write a review but it is that bad. Unfortunately hot wire did not allow me to change.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    40
    56
    170
See reviews for
78
75
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I got a room on hotwire for 48$ per night. After i found out the name of the hotel and went to see the reviews i got scared! Turns out it was nothing to worry about: the lobby is nice, but the rooms are very basic, yet clean and functional. Rooms has somewhat ugly furniture but has been renovated somewhat recently (5 years perhaps?), bathroom was even newer and clean. My guess is that this used to be a really good hotel that didn't break even so they just repurposed it as a cheap hotel until they figure out what to do with it.

I've read all sorts of stuff in the reviews: people feeling unsafe in the parking lot at night (what? this is a very nice professional-medical area. nothing interesting walking distance, but looks fairly safe to me. this person probably saw a brown dude for the first time and got scared), moldy carpets (my room had fake linoleum, the corridors had carpets which were in good condition), basic breakfast (what do you expect, you're paying 50$ per night! the following night i went to a 120$ per night hotel and they gave me no breakfast), AC difficult to control (it has a thermostat + hi/mid/lo control, this person must not be very clever), drug deals in the lobby (whaaaaaat? the lobby is the best part of the hotel and is very quiet, full of old nice people and young people watching netflix on the free wifi).

Not worth 4 stars, but I have to somehow balance out the people who gave the place 1 star because they paid 50$ per night and did not get a plasma TV. Only thing i did miss even for a 50$ hotel is the wifi, which is only in the lobby (hotwire does not differentiate between room wifi and lobby wifi).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night and never again! The staff is not very friendly or pleasant. Totally would not recommend this place. I think booking at another place would be a better option. At this place, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Miami hotels

Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel in a package with Expedia. I checked out the reviews and read that generally it wasn't a great hotel but was OK for one night. Not looking for anything special, it seemed like that would work. The price included free wifi (SUPER SLOW AND NOT IN THE ROOM), free airport shuttle (STOPS AT 10 PM AND OUR FLIGHT CAME IN AT MIDNIGHT), free continental breakfast (This breakfast consisted literally of coffee, cheerios, a couple (as in maybe three total) pieces of fruit.)
The kicker though was the rooms. Our linens were riddled with cigarette burns, the bathtub had pubic hair, we were given 2 towels for four people and the windows were screwed shut. Our cousins' room had mold on the walls, blood on the bedskirt and the water didn't stop running.
My first clue should have been the contract which said we would be charged for a whole night even if we only used the room for 10 minutes or less! RED FLAG!!!! ... or maybe the two prostitutes in the lobby could have been another clue. Take my advice and don't believe the hype!

Room Tip: don't have expectations
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travel a lot for work and I have stayed in 5 star resorts in various locations...when I travel personally I do not require much and usually go for the regular or low fair hotels so I have stayed at both ends of the spectrum.

Granted this place needs to be updated and some serious Reno money invested, but at the same time the general location is not a tourist oriented so may never "boom".

This hotel provided exactly what I paid for a clean room, clean bathroom and bed. Granted it is older so it does not have the fresh new look but if you judge it for what it is and what it costs it's well worthy of at least a 4 star.

The only reason I wouldn't give it five stars (again based on what I paid) is that I had to pay to park in their garage and the continental breakfasts was...very basic.

Other than that clean pool, clean rooms and awesomely nice staff.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just returned from a three day weekend in Miami. The staff at the hotel were some of the most helpful I have ever I encountered. I wanted to set up a tour for Saturday. Alexis, one of the night staff, spent over 30 minutes with me reviewing the tour options, helping select a tour and then printed out my itinerary. The next morning, the manager, Israel, walked me the 1 & 1/2 blocks to the Metro so I could take the train to catch the tour. Both staff asked how the tour was and showed genuine interest.
The best Miami Hotel is near the U of M campus and a huge hospital. There are fun places to eat near by. Having such close access to the Metro train you can get almost anywhere quickly.
This is a great and inexpensive hidden gem in South Miami.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

If all you need to do is spend the night and not shower than it's okay in a pinch but the parking lot smelled like urine and felt unsafe at night. It is close to Coral Gables. I felt like Jack Nicholson was going to peep out around the corner...it was very spooky, deserted and dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Miami Hotel

Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599
Location: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Miami Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Reservation Counter, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Best Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Miami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.