We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was skeptic of reviews but RUN AWAY from this piece of crap!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Best Miami Hotel to your Saves list
Best Miami Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I was skeptic of reviews but RUN AWAY from this piece of crap!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I've been in hotels and hostels all over the world but this hotel is just lame. Understaffed, that should tell you how clean the bed sheets could be. The room has an odor of old ciggarette. They charge you $8 per day for parking and a MANDATORY $2 fee for the safe, which they charge regardless you use or not. If you add up all that you can afford something better (holiday inn or alike) so the argument "you get what you pay for" does not apply because it ends costing a lot. Stay away from hotwire and "miami best (worse) hotel". I would rather use airbnb. I never write a review but it is that bad. Unfortunately hot wire did not allow me to change.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    37
    56
    72
    192
See reviews for
100
92
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I got a room on hotwire for 48$ per night. After i found out the name of the hotel and went to see the reviews i got scared! Turns out it was nothing to worry about: the lobby is nice, but the rooms are very basic, yet clean and functional. Rooms has somewhat ugly furniture but has been renovated somewhat recently (5 years perhaps?), bathroom was even newer and clean. My guess is that this used to be a really good hotel that didn't break even so they just repurposed it as a cheap hotel until they figure out what to do with it.

I've read all sorts of stuff in the reviews: people feeling unsafe in the parking lot at night (what? this is a very nice professional-medical area. nothing interesting walking distance, but looks fairly safe to me. this person probably saw a brown dude for the first time and got scared), moldy carpets (my room had fake linoleum, the corridors had carpets which were in good condition), basic breakfast (what do you expect, you're paying 50$ per night! the following night i went to a 120$ per night hotel and they gave me no breakfast), AC difficult to control (it has a thermostat + hi/mid/lo control, this person must not be very clever), drug deals in the lobby (whaaaaaat? the lobby is the best part of the hotel and is very quiet, full of old nice people and young people watching netflix on the free wifi).

Not worth 4 stars, but I have to somehow balance out the people who gave the place 1 star because they paid 50$ per night and did not get a plasma TV. Only thing i did miss even for a 50$ hotel is the wifi, which is only in the lobby (hotwire does not differentiate between room wifi and lobby wifi).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed for one night and never again! The staff is not very friendly or pleasant. Totally would not recommend this place. I think booking at another place would be a better option. At this place, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We booked this hotel in a package with Expedia. I checked out the reviews and read that generally it wasn't a great hotel but was OK for one night. Not looking for anything special, it seemed like that would work. The price included free wifi (SUPER SLOW AND NOT IN THE ROOM), free airport shuttle (STOPS AT 10 PM AND OUR FLIGHT CAME IN AT MIDNIGHT), free continental breakfast (This breakfast consisted literally of coffee, cheerios, a couple (as in maybe three total) pieces of fruit.)
The kicker though was the rooms. Our linens were riddled with cigarette burns, the bathtub had pubic hair, we were given 2 towels for four people and the windows were screwed shut. Our cousins' room had mold on the walls, blood on the bedskirt and the water didn't stop running.
My first clue should have been the contract which said we would be charged for a whole night even if we only used the room for 10 minutes or less! RED FLAG!!!! ... or maybe the two prostitutes in the lobby could have been another clue. Take my advice and don't believe the hype!

Room Tip: don't have expectations
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I travel a lot for work and I have stayed in 5 star resorts in various locations...when I travel personally I do not require much and usually go for the regular or low fair hotels so I have stayed at both ends of the spectrum.

Granted this place needs to be updated and some serious Reno money invested, but at the same time the general location is not a tourist oriented so may never "boom".

This hotel provided exactly what I paid for a clean room, clean bathroom and bed. Granted it is older so it does not have the fresh new look but if you judge it for what it is and what it costs it's well worthy of at least a 4 star.

The only reason I wouldn't give it five stars (again based on what I paid) is that I had to pay to park in their garage and the continental breakfasts was...very basic.

Other than that clean pool, clean rooms and awesomely nice staff.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just returned from a three day weekend in Miami. The staff at the hotel were some of the most helpful I have ever I encountered. I wanted to set up a tour for Saturday. Alexis, one of the night staff, spent over 30 minutes with me reviewing the tour options, helping select a tour and then printed out my itinerary. The next morning, the manager, Israel, walked me the 1 & 1/2 blocks to the Metro so I could take the train to catch the tour. Both staff asked how the tour was and showed genuine interest.
The best Miami Hotel is near the U of M campus and a huge hospital. There are fun places to eat near by. Having such close access to the Metro train you can get almost anywhere quickly.
This is a great and inexpensive hidden gem in South Miami.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

If all you need to do is spend the night and not shower than it's okay in a pinch but the parking lot smelled like urine and felt unsafe at night. It is close to Coral Gables. I felt like Jack Nicholson was going to peep out around the corner...it was very spooky, deserted and dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Miami Hotel

Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143
Location: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Miami Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Best Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Miami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.