We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Miami Hotel!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Best Miami Hotel to your Saves list
Best Miami Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worst Miami Hotel!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My night started with the hotel shuttle taking over an hour to pick me up from the airport. To checking into a disgusting room that was dirty and rust just about everywhere. The light bulbs in half of the lamps in the room were blown out. The comforter on the bed was stained. The bathroom floor was black the toilet seat had some sticky stuff on it. I called and complained they put me in another room which had rust on the ceiling and doorway of the bathroom but the bathroom was a little bit cleaner. As I'm trying to sleep I hear that the toilet keeps running and then around 11pm I hear this dripping sound the AC brakes! Water starts dripping from the ceiling. Again, I call the front desk and complain and again they said the can move to another room. By this time I had it and it was late I had to get up at 5:30am I didn't want to move again. I also didn't care for the location of the hotel. It didn't feel safe to go out after dark. If you can afford to spend a few extra bucks stay at another hotel. Thank god I was only staying for one night!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    29
    41
    62
    177
See reviews for
84
78
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Disgusting hotel it is was creepy cold and unpleasant leaking vents noise toilet ugly bedding rusty fridge no vending machine with beverages only candy and chips Continental breakfast is an absolute joke nasty muffins stale fruit bran cereal orange juice was ok it held us up until we got ready to head out to eat at a restaurant I enjoyed being out of the hotel it was the only unpleasant part of my vacation other than that south miami is the best chill spot.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on 4/19/14 for one night prior to a cruise. The hotel appears to be currently renting rooms to guest who are long term miami residents who live there. Room was in need of update, the whole hotel smells like another guess said humid and mold. The pool is very small, the continental breaksfast is just juice fruit and muffins with cold cereal. Stay here only if you leaving the next day. The location is great trendy shops, bars and restaurants that you can walk to. Do not expect anymore than that and you will be alright bring your own sheets and towels otherwise sleep in your car. Again nice staff owner needs to spend money to upgrade this hotel.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheets and towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The room had a terrible mold odor and it was very difficult to stay indoors. The room have not been maintained in a long time and its was very humid and several metal pieces were rusted. This hotel should not be open for business.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel was the most disgusting place I have ever been to. There was mold growing on the curtains, the faucet was leaking, there was rust all over the vents, the bathtub was all stained and there was what looked like blood on the floor. After inspecting the room we checked out right away. When we told the man at the desk and he did not seem surprised at all. He would not offer us a refund and Orbitz wouldn't either. Do not stay there and do not book through Orbitz if you are unsure if you really want to stay at a place or not.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night March 15 2014. We chose it because it was about $90 when all others were $135 plus. The Hotel was in process of renovation. New paint and room also had new flooring as well. The pool area is also in need of some cosmetic help. There is a beautiful fountain/waterfall attached to pool that would be beautiful, however it is non functioning and very run down. The locks on the pool gates were broken as well. Now I take on good faith these issues may be on list for more renovations. There was a weird mildew smell in lobby and it was being tended to with small fans on the floor. The front desk was nice enough to allow us to store our bags as we arrived several hours before check in 3pm. It is within walking distance to a very nice area with restaurants and an outdoor mall with stores and an AMC 24 movie theater. Cab ride away from other attractions and Miami Airport.
In all perfect for a very affordable night stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Miami Hotel

Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599
Location: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Miami Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Best Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Miami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.