We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold harzardous” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Best Miami Hotel to your Saves list
Best Miami Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mold harzardous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The room had a terrible mold odor and it was very difficult to stay indoors. The room have not been maintained in a long time and its was very humid and several metal pieces were rusted. This hotel should not be open for business.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    29
    42
    63
    177
See reviews for
84
79
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel was the most disgusting place I have ever been to. There was mold growing on the curtains, the faucet was leaking, there was rust all over the vents, the bathtub was all stained and there was what looked like blood on the floor. After inspecting the room we checked out right away. When we told the man at the desk and he did not seem surprised at all. He would not offer us a refund and Orbitz wouldn't either. Do not stay there and do not book through Orbitz if you are unsure if you really want to stay at a place or not.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night March 15 2014. We chose it because it was about $90 when all others were $135 plus. The Hotel was in process of renovation. New paint and room also had new flooring as well. The pool area is also in need of some cosmetic help. There is a beautiful fountain/waterfall attached to pool that would be beautiful, however it is non functioning and very run down. The locks on the pool gates were broken as well. Now I take on good faith these issues may be on list for more renovations. There was a weird mildew smell in lobby and it was being tended to with small fans on the floor. The front desk was nice enough to allow us to store our bags as we arrived several hours before check in 3pm. It is within walking distance to a very nice area with restaurants and an outdoor mall with stores and an AMC 24 movie theater. Cab ride away from other attractions and Miami Airport.
In all perfect for a very affordable night stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Thank god i only stayed here for 1 night. Highlights were:


1. Shipped a few packages that i bought on Amazon to the hotel, when I got there 2 of the 4 packages were provided. The guy at front desk was not helpful in locating the other 2 packages which were infact received by the hotel but they forgot to make note of if. After 30 minues back and forth they found the other 2 packages.

2. Called for a shuttle service to the airport the night i arrived and the shuttle service told me its policy to have the hotel call. So I asked the guy at the front desk to call and he refused. By the time he finally agreed all shuttles were booked resulting in me having to incurr additional cost of a cab.

3. Roaches in the elevator

4. Loud guest

5. No shuttle service from the airport although their website said that do

6. generally bad vibes at this place, I had nightmares for the entire night

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a cheap place to stay for one night while we had a nice dinner for our anniversary. Our room was $80 plus you pay $10 for parking (which was very confusing at first and I felt like the man at the front desk was not being clear at all and kinda rude when I kept asking him where we were supposed to go). We should have had one king bed but we got two full . Mattresses are lumpy and stained...just warning! No wifi either:( I was not going to let those little things get to me but one thing happened that really just made the experience frustrating. Our room was located right next to the cleaning staff area and at 5:30am-6:30am they were arguing in spanish very loudly and seemed to have no consideration for their guests. And to top it off my hubby was not too pleased to see a roach perching on the mirror either:/
On the front of the hotel their is a sign reading "Best kept secret in Miami" and we were joking it needs to stay the best kept secret. Overall, you get what you pay for I guess.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

At first, I was going to write a review and say "Never stay here." I had to change rooms 3 times due to them putting me in a smoking room when I asked for non smoking. I will be truthful and say that this hotel has seen better days. The rooms are old and outdated, beds are not the most comfortable and I didn't receive wi-fi in my room. I shared my room with 3 other friends as we were in Miami for a mutual friend's wedding.
We began to notice that it seemed as though people were actually living in their hotel rooms.
We thought maybe it was some sort of half way house?
It came to my attention during my final day at the hotel.....right before check out that Yes, people do live at the hotel. Why? Because the hospital is right next to the hotel and people are living at the hotel because they are receiving long term medical treatment or they have a loved one receiving long term medical treatment. I met a very kind woman who said she stays there every time her son has facial reconstruction surgery due to a car accident.
There was my change of heart. When I realized why people were living at the hotel I thanked my lucky stars that I wasn't in their position.
So what, the breakfast wasn't the best, the bath towels were limited and the wi-fi didn't work. We were within walking distance to a wonderful mall with a lovely french bakery and an amazing Irish pub. Einstein Bagels was across the street and the metro line was 2 blocks away.
The front desk clerk was one of the most nicest men I have ever met. His name was Gilberto and he went out of his way to make our stay as comfortable as possible.
If you do decide to stay here, you'll survive, it's not as bad as most of the reviews.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Not close to cruise port, dirty, wifi is only in lobby, airport shuttles run very few times. It is residential for a lot of older people and they do food drops there in the afternoon. We heard a staff member being extremely rude to an elderly man.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Miami Hotel

Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599
Location: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Miami Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Best Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Miami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.