We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a change of heart during my final day at this hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Best Miami Hotel to your Saves list
Best Miami Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I had a change of heart during my final day at this hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

At first, I was going to write a review and say "Never stay here." I had to change rooms 3 times due to them putting me in a smoking room when I asked for non smoking. I will be truthful and say that this hotel has seen better days. The rooms are old and outdated, beds are not the most comfortable and I didn't receive wi-fi in my room. I shared my room with 3 other friends as we were in Miami for a mutual friend's wedding.
We began to notice that it seemed as though people were actually living in their hotel rooms.
We thought maybe it was some sort of half way house?
It came to my attention during my final day at the hotel.....right before check out that Yes, people do live at the hotel. Why? Because the hospital is right next to the hotel and people are living at the hotel because they are receiving long term medical treatment or they have a loved one receiving long term medical treatment. I met a very kind woman who said she stays there every time her son has facial reconstruction surgery due to a car accident.
There was my change of heart. When I realized why people were living at the hotel I thanked my lucky stars that I wasn't in their position.
So what, the breakfast wasn't the best, the bath towels were limited and the wi-fi didn't work. We were within walking distance to a wonderful mall with a lovely french bakery and an amazing Irish pub. Einstein Bagels was across the street and the metro line was 2 blocks away.
The front desk clerk was one of the most nicest men I have ever met. His name was Gilberto and he went out of his way to make our stay as comfortable as possible.
If you do decide to stay here, you'll survive, it's not as bad as most of the reviews.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    45
    62
    77
    198
See reviews for
109
99
39
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AUS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Not close to cruise port, dirty, wifi is only in lobby, airport shuttles run very few times. It is residential for a lot of older people and they do food drops there in the afternoon. We heard a staff member being extremely rude to an elderly man.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I booked this hotel for 3 nights in Miami. The pool was small and I was disappointed when I could not get any extra towels. We had to chase down the house keepers to get some. The hotel had no ice whatsoever or any ice machines that worked in the whole hotel. There was very little to the continental breakfast; two or three pieces of fruit, one choice of juice and a bowl of one choice of cereal and a couple mini muffins.
I understand it's Florida, but would somebody please speak english!
This is it decent hotel f your just looking for a clean nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
163 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is about 10 minutes from the airport, walking distance to a whole bunch of shops, bars and restaurants. The building looks to be something from the 1960's. Based on observations the management is doing a makeover. My room was nice but very plainly done. The TV worked well but was an old-style versus flat screen. If you are looking for a luxury resort, this isn't the place. If you need a place to stay before heading out somewhere else, this could be your first or last stop in south FLA. I found the service to be pleasant. Staff took time to give me a number of food tips.
Now for some constructive criticism for management: The safe charge of 2 bucks a night reflects poorly on your property. Most people read this as a hidden gotcha designed to screw the guests out of money. I have condemned high end hotels for safe charges, resort fees and internet fees. This is old school and viewed poorly by the general public.

I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel is good and we didn't have problems like the others reviews said here. The localization is good. The room is comfortable, but the hotel is good to sleep and not to spend time. The garage has a bad structure, but the price for parking is better than other places. All the fees and charges that people were talking about are in the website, we took a better look after reading the reviews. We were afraid about the robbers, but the room can be locked.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Kansas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

It is clever that they named this hotel something that quickly will pull it up on a web search - but it really should be "WORST Miami Hotel". Simple adjectives will sum it up... dirty, falling apart, smelly, hard beds, noisy rooms, trashed van, CHARGES for a safe you never use including tax on it, dirty pool...... Everytime we went past the front desk the girl was on the phone explaining to someone why they do not give refunds! PAY MORE MONEY and stay ANYWHERE ELSE!!! This place should be rated ZERO!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Miami
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland
11.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Thompson Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
2.0 mi away
Miami Marriott Dadeland
Miami Marriott Dadeland
#50 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
2.1 mi away
Miami Dadeland Hotel
Miami Dadeland Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kendall
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Miami Hotel

Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143
Location: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Miami Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Best Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Miami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.