We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It wasn't as bad as all of the reviews are saying” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Best Miami Hotel to your Saves list
Best Miami Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Miami, Florida
1 review
“It wasn't as bad as all of the reviews are saying”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I never write reviews, but after reading all of the reviews, I figured I would. Everyone is saying that it is terrible, not worth it, blah blah blah. My husband and I read the reviews after purchasing our reservation, and the reviews scared me so much that I brought 2 sleeping bags for us to sleep on the bed in, and we treated it like we were camping. It made it worth the price, especially since we were coming in late and leaving in the morning. We didn't smell mildew like the other reviews were saying, and we were kind to the people that worked there, and they were nice back to us! After reading the reviews, I payed cash only at the hotel, which made us feel more secure as well. It did help me realize how blessed I am to live where I live. I was pleased for the most part. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    40
    60
    174
See reviews for
82
76
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is the first time a write a review for a hotel. I expected to be bad because the price is cheap. But it was extremely expensive for what it was.
1- The place is not easy to find. I had to call for directions because I could not find the place, although I was less than two blocks from it. I had to wait close to fifty rings before the guy answered. He told me very fast to take a right, then a right, then a right and then a left. When I asked him to be more specific, he told he was too busy and hang up the phone. Since I had pre paid the room I had no choice, but to keep looking.
The check in was extremely slow. Then I was told I had to pay $2.00 for the safety box regardless if I used it or not. That was not specify in the reservation.
When you go to park the car you have to call the front desk from the entrance to the parking lot so they can open the gate. Again I had to wait about three minutes before the guy from the front desk would answer the phone.
I had to unplug the refrigerator because it was extremely noise. The alarm clock did not work.

Room Tip: I will never stay in this hotel again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Miami hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

But for this hotel you should. The guy at the front desk said he wouldn't stay here and said we should have read the reviews. We booked a room for four but only had enough towels for two, when we asked for more we were old that the hotel was out of towels and there wouldn't be anymore for 5 days. The shuttle was the best part of the hotel, the driver was nice and even stopped us at the liquor store on the way back from the mall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you are looking for a place to sleep, on a tight budget, and really - really don't mind how comfortable and clean a place is then this isn't a terrible choice. The other positive is that it is very close to the metrorail station that quickly gets you to dadeland mall/station if you don't have a vehicle.

Having said that, the bed and pillows reaked of sweat and BO and were obviously very old. The windows didn't lock and one had a huge crack in it. There was leaking water from the AC vent in the roof. The main elevator and ice machine didn't work (and only the elevator had a sign that said so). The breakfast leaves something to be desired. No Wifi. And the in-room safe that you have to pay for whether you like it or not. I could go on. I thought the customer service was ok.

They say you get what you pay for but i think you should get more for your money in this case.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Mold on the windows, no TV channel card/paper, no wake up calls, front desk doesn't speak English, no restaurants or bar. Floor in bathroom was disgusting! No frills--that's what you get when you go cheap! Never again! Hotel shuttle took 1 & 1/2 hours to pick us up--typing paper taped in a van. They charge you for a hotel safe--can't opt out.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon Shores
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

we have stayed here a few times only because it is close to hospitals and a tight budget, to be fair the hotel has seen better days and is in real need of updating. Our rooms have varied between being run down and dismal to clean and comfortable, there seems to be no constant. the breakfast is not very good, there is usually a fridge in the room some do not work, wi fi is only available in public areas and there are no coffee makers in any room we stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Horrible hotel, dirty, poor of breakfast and the worst....the enter our room and stole cash, whatchand credir cards...while we were sleeping! And then, the receptionist said it wasn t his falut and thay don t have any insurance...
DONT GO THEEEEEEERE!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Miami Hotel

Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599
Location: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Miami Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Reservation Counter, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Miami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.