We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Best Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Best Miami Hotel to your Saves list
Best Miami Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not the Best Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Mold on the windows, no TV channel card/paper, no wake up calls, front desk doesn't speak English, no restaurants or bar. Floor in bathroom was disgusting! No frills--that's what you get when you go cheap! Never again! Hotel shuttle took 1 & 1/2 hours to pick us up--typing paper taped in a van. They charge you for a hotel safe--can't opt out.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    31
    47
    63
    183
See reviews for
92
81
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon Shores
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

we have stayed here a few times only because it is close to hospitals and a tight budget, to be fair the hotel has seen better days and is in real need of updating. Our rooms have varied between being run down and dismal to clean and comfortable, there seems to be no constant. the breakfast is not very good, there is usually a fridge in the room some do not work, wi fi is only available in public areas and there are no coffee makers in any room we stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Horrible hotel, dirty, poor of breakfast and the worst....the enter our room and stole cash, whatchand credir cards...while we were sleeping! And then, the receptionist said it wasn t his falut and thay don t have any insurance...
DONT GO THEEEEEEERE!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Miami hotels

Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived near 11pm booked by Expedia. The Hotel attendant told us they only had 1 room left and it was a smoking room. What choice did we have at that hour! None! You will get charged 8 bucks for their parking garage (very dark unnerving dungeon ) $2 safe daily charge. The room had two hard terrible beds. The sheets HAD STAINS AND PUBIC HAIR! Yuck! they were not changed in one bed. I went downstairs and asked for sheets to change the other bed. I would not want to put my kids on that dirty bed!! The shower did seem clean and It had new counters and towels. PEELING TOILET SEAT, TV is an old 80s model no remotes. We had no cable and WiFi was only in the lobby. The continental brkfast was 2 types of cereal, coffee, orange juice and small packaged muffins. This place is okay for the one night quick get away among friends who have no care of where to crash, but not for couples seeking cleanliness, certainly not for children. Reeky smoke rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We arrived late and night and was told by the clerk that he was busy doing paperwork and had to wait 45 minutes. The rooms were freezing and dirty. The linens were of very poor quality. The breakfast provided was also awful.

Avoid this hotel at all costs!

Their slogan is that this is "Miami's best kept secret". It should stay a secret, to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!!. There is mold in all the rooms. We changed rooms 3 times and there is mold in all of them. We had to change hotels in the middle of the night and we are fighting to get a refund. The manager was very rude when we asked for a refund. She did not want to help. They charge you for the safe whether you use it or not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

THIS PLACE IS THE WORST!!!!!!!! DO NOT STAY!!!!!!!THE
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE !!!!!
We booked this hotel through Orbitz for a quick
Soccer trip to Miami for the kids . We went to check
In and our name was in the computer but apparently a form from Orbitz never got faxed instead of trying to help us we were told to leave and contact them on our own.
Very Rude !!! Contacted Orbitz they got us taken care of and told us the hotel could if contacted them. I guess that was Too Much work!! The front desk clerk insulted me in Spanish to my Husband. If this hotel wasn't already paid and it wasn't 10pm at night . We would of left.They never apologized to us and when we checked out never would look at us or say goodby or thank you.. Also the rooms are very small and the breakfast should even be called that . Just some muffins and apples and one type of Cereal. I Would Never go there again....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Miami Hotel

Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599
Location: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Miami Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Miami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.