We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Best Miami Hotel to your Saves list
Best Miami Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OK for one night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

First of all, you had to pay for the parking. The location was not very convenient. The bed was hard as a log and the room was not extremely clean, although it was not filthy. We didn't try the breakfast, as we overslept. The staff was not very helpful or nice. The pool was not open. Anyway, It was ok for a night, but woulnd't use it for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    40
    61
    174
See reviews for
83
76
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

it was an average hotel, nothing really stood out to me, the ceiling in the hotel was gross, but the hotel itself was okay, could be beautiful with some cleaning and some work put into it and the pictures of the pool and the actual pool were not even comparable. also the shuttle was HORRIBLE and it hotel itself was very unorganized. the driver of the shuttle was nice enough each time but when you needed them to come they were a half hour late or did not show up at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was horrible we switched rooms because we had booked for king and received two doubles. The first room looked worst then the one we got switched to. Of course on top of paying for the room we paid for parking. We were told we would have wifi in the room called front desk the said only in the lobby. Bedspread ripped, dirty walls, dirty everthing more like a motel not hotel. We not recommend this hotel to anybody. This hotel is a big candidate for Hotel Hell.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Miami hotels

Miami Gardens
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Before I start, I must warn that the picture that you see showing the "front" of the hotel is just for show. The outside appearance looks more like one of those old movie theaters that's been up for a really long time, and has lost a lot of paint. It's missing letters, so instead of it saying Best Miami Hotel, it just say "Best." So you will get confused, and lost.

Me and my gf was looking to go out somewhere to spend a few days alone to get away from our daily struggles, and we stumbled upon this hotel. We made reservations for 1 King Sized bed to sleep in for 2 days. After driving around the block a few times where it's located, we find the place, but we were told that we can't park in the front, and would have to park in the garage. So we park in this garage, walk through this door that looks straight out of a horror movie, move through the hallways where the water system's connects, and take an elevator down to the main hallway with all of our items where the front desk is located. We get to the front desk, and we're told that they've been waiting for us. We're asked for our credit card and I.D, to ensure that it's us who made the reservation. He swipes it, and starts charging other things to the card without notice. We ask why, and he tell us that it's an extra $8.00 a day for parking, and an extra $2.00 a day for a safe in the room. Also there's a $50 dollar hold on the account that they will not notify you of. We was upset, as we were not notified of the extra charges from the site, or the phone call, or the fact that HE WAS CHARGING US WITHOUT ASKING!

So after dealing with the front, we're given our card keys go up to our room, open the door after 10 minutes of attempting to open it with the card key, and we find a big difference: Not only was the AC leaking, the rooms we reserved were not given. We asked for 1 king sized, and we were given double beds. My gf went back down to ask why we weren't given the room we reserved, and they said that we only get what they can give, so being specific isn't a good idea. We kept the room, and come to find out, the frame for one of the beds were shorter than the bed itself, so it was actually one good bed. The fridge could barely hold 12 canned sodas, not to mention that a Microwave is stacked on top of it, and both of them are sitting on top of a closet rack. We try to relax by accessing the wireless internet that's offered, just to find out that the Wifi is only accessible in the Lobby,where the front desk is. Again, False Advertisement.

So we try to relax by taking a dip in the pool, only to find out that the pool's no bigger than an average pool that you would find in your neighbors backyard. The deepest is about 6ft. There's a bar and lounge in the area where the pool, but there's one thing: It's an empty bar. Also, be aware, elevators are not to be trusted.

It's a cool area, but this hotel is not even worth spending about $10 dollars a day in, unless you want a horror movie experience.

Room Tip: Here's a tip: drive further for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

On the date of June 30, 2012 after a series of unfortunate events, my group of seven females and I, reluctantly checked into the Best Miami Hotel. When we initially arrived after traveling from Maryland which ended up bein close to a 20 hour drive, the hotel could not find our reservations. Although, I had all of my comfirmation emails and receipts showing the specific reservation; the clerk at the desk refused to look at them and I was told that does not matter. After waiting about thirty minutes we were informed of an eight dollar a night parking fee for this low quality hotel along with a two-dollar a night charge for an electric safe in each room which we had no intentions on using. There is no other parking options near the location and I did not appreciate having to pay for parking as a guest at this hotel. Once we received our keys and entered the rooms we noted the obvious slope in the beds as if the beds had been 10 years old. We had to request to stay in a different room but upon viewing different options we noticed that all of the other rooms were the same or worse than the room we were already assigned. I shared a room with three other females and each day we woke up with one washcloth and one towel and had to go to the front desk and request them for our six day vacation. The electric door keys were demagnatized for some unknown reason multiple times a day. After longs day on the beach we had to wait outside the door for someone to get the key programmed again. The day after we checked in we noticed at $50 charge on the credit cards swiped for the two rooms. We went to the front desk to ask wha the charge was for and after 20 minutes of pondering we were informed that it was an incident protection pending charge that we were not informed of when we checked in. At this point we have been inconvienced in the amount of $100 with what I feel are miscellaneuos charges. The staff was extremely unhelpful and unwilling to accommodate with any of our request without an argument. My friends and I did not feel appreciated as paying guest in this hotel. We had planned to leave July 3rd, but decidede to stay one more night for the 4th of July festivities. We booked another night on Hotels.com which we had used to reserve the rooms the first time. When we went to notify the staff that we were going to stay another night. They told us that we had to check out and check back in, in addition to having another $25 pending charge on our acconts, and of course the $8 for parking and $2 for the safe. If the staff seemed a little more concerned with there guest rather than making a quick dollar, and made some major renovations this hotel would have great potential to be a nice stay. The location is quiet and there are nice malls and eateries in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Nice hotel and good room.
There was WiFi in the room, but no fridge.
The breakfast was very poor and no possibility to seat at a table.
The location was good, and although there was plenty of parking space (was outside of Miami) the parking at the hotel was not for free.
The personal at the reception could not find the registration altough I have made on the same day. I had to wait quite a lot until he prepared the docs and received the keys.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

the room needs a little more of care. door was missing the lock and at night time was too
noise as a couple was fighting outside and screaming. took more than an hour for the police to get there. the little fridge was too old and rust.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Miami Hotel

Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599
Location: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Miami Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Miami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.