We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Shuttle Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Best Miami Hotel to your Saves list
Best Miami Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No Shuttle Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We booked this hotel just because of the free shuttle service from the airport and from the hotel to the Port of Miami, We called to get the shuttle and was told the shuttle was broke down and we were on our own, we were 4 women in Miami did not know who to trust, so I had made reservations with a shuttle service to take us from the Port of Miami to Airport upon our return, they were great and picked us up at Airport to take us to Best Miami Hotel but cost $60, which the hotel would not pay nothing on. We were told we had shuttle to take us to Port of Miami one day the next there was no shuttle, we did end up getting their shuttle, everyone on the shuttle to Port of Miami complained of the same problem. Safe did not work in room. The best thing was the breakfast and coffee it was good. Room looks nothing like pictures and pool area beware, chairs were falling apart my sister sat on a barstool at pool and it tipped over with her and she just recently had back surgery. Jorge was the only nice one working at the hotel, Manager does not care about anything.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    35
    50
    65
    188
See reviews for
94
87
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I don't even know where to start with this place. In case you can't make it through the list of problems with this hotel...I'll start with the worst.

THE LOCK WAS MISSING FROM THE DOOR! As a single young female traveling alone this was not okay. When I went to the front desk to request a different room I was told the locks had been removed from all of the doors.

NO INTERNET! The hotels own website advertises that they have internet throughout the hotel. This is why I booked since I needed to get online for work. After getting all settled in for the night and setting down to work I was told that you could only use the internet in the lobby.

Add to this list :

MATTRESS SO OLD YOU ARE LAYING ON SPRINGS

TOILET RUNNING EVERY 5 MINUTES KEPT ME UP ALL NIGHT

SHOWER HEAD FLEW OFF AND HIT ME IN THE HEAD DURING SHOWER

SECRET HIDDEN FEES LIKE EXPENSIVE PARKING AND SAFE FEES

,,,and you can start to understand how terrible this hotel is.

You can read all of their bad reviews on all the review websites and see for yourself. I read these reviews before booking and decided to book anyway because of the low price and I know I can handle cheap hotels...but trust me. This is NOT worth it! YOU WOULD BE BETTER OFF STAYING IN YOUR CAR.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Miami hotels

Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This place was the most digusting hotel I have ever seen. Starting with the dirty, filthy, barely running van that picked us up at the airport. We checked in and then got on the dirty elevator to notice huge holes from dryrot in the courtyard. The courtyard area was grimmy and unkept. Once in the room, we spent a whole of 3 minutes and decided not to stay. The walls had dirty streaks running down them and the ceiling was black from where the furnace blew. The comforters on the bed were 20 years old and I couldn't imagine sleeping there. If I did it was with bedbugs! DO NOT STAY HERE they refused to refund my money.

Room Tip: We ended up staying at the Holiday Inn in Coral Gables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Not a great experience....shabby, grimey, run down, awful breakfast and really not worth any money.

However service and airport shuttle were really good.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

No heat in the entire building rooms are freezing even when the AC is off me my wife and three month old baby had to dress like Eskimos . $2 per day for the in room safe you get charged even if you don't use it. $3 for using a credit card. They don't accept $100 bills. forget about eating here the homeless shelter is five dinning compared to this place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Guest beware of this place. We planned to stay in Miami a few days before going on a curse and for a few day after. We arrived at this hotel looking for a decent place to stay. It is nice if you are looking for moldy ceilings. We were give a room key, we went to the room only to find that the ceiling air unit was leaking and flooded the room. The ceiling was cracked and moldy. we reported the leak to the desk clerk, the clerk acted as if it was no problem. We were given 3 more keys to 3 different rooms 2 of the 3 the air units were squealing loud and were moldier than the other one. the last room was not that bad but it had that moldy smell. After inspecting this room we soon descovered that the tub, floors and bed had hair from another customer. My husband called the desk clerk ad asked if someone could come and clean the room. So we could get to bed. By now it's 2 a.m. we were told that there was not maid for the night and that there was nothing they could do.We took the towels from the bathroom put them on the pillows so we could get to sleep by now it's 3:30 a.m. The maids came the next morning to clean the room, they cleaned the bathtub, changed the sheets and blankets, but did not clean the floors. So we were stuck because we booked on line and was on limited funds. This room was prepaid on line with not refunds. It rained 2 days while we were there and I promise you the 4th floor ceiling in the hallway near the elevator had water running down it as if it was a waterfall. The city of Miami need to close this place down. I would advise anyone not to stay here. You're better off staying under a bridge. The city need to inspect this place for the mole and health risk for the type of mold that's growing in the walls. The lobby floor was dirty and the pool was roped off. This place is not suitable for the homeless to stay in.I would not advise nor recommend this DUMP to a stray dog.

Room Tip: all of the rooms leak from the outdated A/C units
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Booked this hotel while travelling Florida & the Keys on the basis of the website. Unfortunatley we had to learn by our mistake!This Hotel bears no resembalance to the website. The smell of mildew/ mould hits you as soon as you walk in, the pool area was cordoned off and the whole place was in need of TLC !! even more amazing the breakfast waitress was helping her self to food laid on for guests!!! i suppose we knew if staff were eating it it was safe to eat ! We realise you pay for what you get but the website is extremely misleading. Think twice before staying, don't be fooled by the pictures on the website it looks nothing like it!

Room Tip: sleep somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Miami Hotel

Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599
Location: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Miami Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Miami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.