We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Chinatown Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New Chinatown Restaurant
5958 S Dixie Hwy, South Miami, FL 33143-5128
305-662-5649
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Picked up Lunch last week for 5 people, we ordered varied, it was all very good. It had been a while since I had eaten from this restaurant, that has been around since I can remember. The food was excellent, the orange chicken was superb.

Duck was great, beef, and especially their special fried rice was superb!

The beef Szechuan was also very good.

Highly recommend it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ah so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review


The establishment is conveniently located near the University of Miami, parking is adequate, as is the food. Not terrible, but if one has ever dined in an Old Chinatown restaurant, say, in San Francisco or New York, the experience here is certainly not memorable.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in the area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is our family go to Chinese restaurant ... food is good and so is the atmosphere. Plenty of parking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good, but not spectacular.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Even a request for spicy food elicits only mildly spicy food. Perhaps management errs on the side of safety, but this is a student town, with a large indigenous Chinese constituency.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is our go to chinese restaurant close to home. We have others that are closer but don't compare. New Chinatown is great for take out or dining in during lunch or dinner. The restaurant is very clean and has a very large dining room with full liquor & wine options. My only issue is that take out is pick up only, no delivery. However, it's worth the trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Chinatown Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Chinatown Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.