We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be better..manager doesn't seem to care” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Chinatown Restaurant

New Chinatown Restaurant
5958 S Dixie Hwy, South Miami, FL 33143-5128
305-662-5649
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #25 of 57 restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Used to be better..manager doesn't seem to care”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have been going to New Chinatown for 14 years. We'd seen the manager bless out employees in full view before but we overlooked it even thought we were made to feel very uncomforatbe. This time my wife tried to order plain low main noodles. On the lunch menue they were priced at $8 with soup and mixed veggies. My son's stomach was upset so she just wanted "Plain" noodles. They charged her $9 just for the plain noodles. No soup...no veggies...no nothing. When she asked about it they wouldn't do anything. The tall manager just sat (in plain view) and watched. We were regulars, not anymore.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    4
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great and in my favorite list.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I visited New Chinatown Rest this past sunday for lunch with my husband. I wasn't sure if I wanted to come in since the appearance of the building is not too inviting and does not seem like "NEW" but rather old looking, however my husband conviced me. Let me tell you, once you walk in the doors this restaurant is something else. It is absolutely beautiful, clean, and New and well maintained inside. Service is exceptional, bathrooms are extremely clean. But most importanly is the food, of course very good and great taste. We had the Shrimp/chicken low mein and eggrolls and we really enjoyed. We are definately coming back for some duck rolls and hen. Prices are reasonable for a party of two. My bottom line, don't be fooled by outside appearance because the best is inside. Enjoy:)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami FL
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lunch Bunch spot.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Another of our group lunch sites. Fair choices on the menu but what is offered is good and fairly priced. Have not had dinner here. Parking is on site.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Went to New Chinatown on Sunday night with my friends. Enjoyed Hunan Lamb, Seabass and Shredded Chicken. Everything was yummy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the best Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

For years this restaurant is known for its consistent quality. You can repeat the same menu and the quality is the same excellence. Their customer service is very good. Their prices have increased a bit, but the food is worth it. I recommend this restaurant for the whole family.
My favorite meal is " Special Lo Mein "

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Chinatown Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New Chinatown Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Chinatown Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.