We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you can eat sushi, goof price, decent food !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kyojin Japanese Buffet

Kyojin Japanese Buffet
6212 S Dixie Hwy, South Miami, FL 33143-4933
305-722-1888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 60 Restaurants in South Miami
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Athens
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“All you can eat sushi, goof price, decent food !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

In Kyojin japanese buffet, you can eat as much as you like from a big variety of sushi rolls (i would dare to say around 30 different sushi rolls with fish and seafood or for vegetarians, plus sasimi), a fresh seafood buffet and a nice accompanying asian buffet (mainly chinese, like sesame chicken, dumplings, sweet n sour and noodles) and you can order your own hibachi.
Add to all theses, ice cream and sweets at the end. The food is pretty good.
and all this, weekend nights for dinner for only 20$ ! Weekdays nights even cheaper (if i remember correctly around 15$).
Now this is not a fancy restaurant, if you are looking for one. But it is a traditional japanese buffet-diner, with japanese chefs behind the counter preparing sushi all the time and nice japanese decoration.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I went to a plaza to purchase items from a medical store and on coming out I saw persons going into a restaurant nearby, o I decided o check it out and realized that it was a Japanese seafood buffet restaurant.

The choices were remarkable and it covered all the seafood options you would like. It offered sushi, sashimi, hibachi, cooked meals, salads , choice of soups, and of course desserts

The price also gave you value for money.

If you like Japanese food I would recommend this buffet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We planned a surprise dinner for my wife's birthday here tonight partly because it has enough options for virtually all tastes, including vegan. In several visits for both lunch and dinner we've always been satisfied with the freshness and variety of the food, especially the sushi.

Decor has just enough traditional Japanese elements mainly in the entry and front area, though otherwise it's fairly nondescript—dark wood panel walls. A few large-screen TVs follow the trend to cheapen far too many otherwise formerly lovely places. We did notice some cluttered boxes in the corner by our table and even in the main entrance, along with stacked plastic chairs (?!). It doesn't affect the quality of the food but the aesthetics do nudge me next time probably to go farther out of the way to a similar, newer restaurant in downtown Coral Gables, with a comparable pricing structure and product, presented just a bit more elegantly.

Service is adequate—prompt refills and clearing away of used dishes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Actually Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I live and work right by Kyojin Japanese Buffet and never have tried it for fear of... bad food and an expensive price tag... boy as I wrong. I loved everything I ate. The sushi was fresh, the salads tasty, and the hot food was really good too. I even had a little bit of Green Tea Ice Cream to clean my palette and it was also really good and fresh tasting. The staff was friendly and the restaurant was clean as well. I spent around $15 including tip, for more food than I could possibly finish. I would recommend this place for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good local buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

They have a great variety of hot, cold, and made to order choices. On the weekends they have snow crab legs. The hibatchi grill cook to order is always decent.

We eat here about once a month, nd always enjoy it. the kids love the desserts.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyojin Japanese Buffet also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Kyojin Japanese Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyojin Japanese Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.