We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kyojin Japanese Buffet

Kyojin Japanese Buffet
6212 S Dixie Hwy, South Miami, FL 33143-4933
305-722-1888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 56 Restaurants in South Miami
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Miami
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Average Buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The quality of the food has decreased over the years since this place opened. There are better Japanese buffets in the area for the money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
Top Contributor
807 reviews 807 reviews
463 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 216 cities Reviews in 216 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
“Nice selection of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

From sushi, to salads, soups, hibachi, prepared chinese food , desserts, ice cream, fruit and chocolate fountain, what more could one want?

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food if you like sushi buffets--its better to go when it first opens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I've been coming here for years. The atmosphere is nice, with a fountain. I do not think the quality has changed as some other reviews mentioned but i think its better to go early when it opens, rather than towards the end. The service is just ok, but its a buffet, its not a 5 star restaurant. If you love sushi rolls, sashimi, udon soup, or chinese food, its a great deal for lunch in Miami. The desserts are good, too, if you have room, though they are not really authentic except for the bean or green tea ice cream. They do have chocolate fondue fountain though. If you like being waited on hand/food, then I would stay away from all buffets.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to take teens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a wonderful place to take guys who like to eat and who might be such discriminating sushi eaters. While the quality is fine, it is not what you would want if you were at a great sushi restaurant. Nonetheless, it is good food at a good price which is borne out by the volume of people going there for lunch and dinner. My teens love it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Totally DISAPPOINTED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

My family enjoys trying the Japanese buffets and my brother suggested we go to Kyojin to celebrate his birthday. We were 8 adults and 4 kids on a Sunday night. The buffet itself looked very inviting, the sushi was good and fresh the seafood assortment was also good. The oysters were large and fresh and the crab legs very generous. The stir fry and hot food stations had a good variety as well. The most disappointing thing was the horrible service we received. It was like begging for service. But I guess since the tip was automatically added for the large party they just did not care. We had to flag them down to get anything. Water glasses were only filled once, plates were not retrieved so they just piled up. Too bad as I won't be returning. Go to Shinju instead Mamasan there treats you like family..

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyojin Japanese Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Kyojin Japanese Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyojin Japanese Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.