We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and enjoyable meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Tavern

Captain's Tavern
9625 S Dixie Hwy, South Miami, FL 33156
(305) 666-5979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Delicious and enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I was told this is a favorite place of locals and that all the fish is caught by boats owned by the restaurant. A group of nine of us dined, and most of us had the half-pound lobster special. My wife said it was the best she had had in a long time. I was a tiny bit disappointed with the admiral’s variety platter; I felt the lobster was a little stringy and slightly chewy, but otherwise good. Service was exceptionally quick; we were served the appetizer in just a few minutes. The calamari and tuna sushi were excellent but the edamame were a little too salty. The key lime pie was great. The only thing wrong with it was that it was so good everyone wanted a bite. If you are in the mood to splurge at $25-30 a plate, The Captain’s Tavern is good place for a very enjoyable and delicious meal!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muret, France
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lot of wait for an average seafood meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Arrived at 7:30pm for dinner... I was told by an unfriendly hostess I would have to wait for 20 minutes, which was OK. I had a beer at the bar, but had to wait for 40 minutes instead. Maybe because I was alone?

Once I got seated at last, the waiter advised me to pick the Tuesday lobster special (two for one, one pound each). I did .., and sort of regretted it! Small, far too cooked, no taste... Really disappointed!

I hoped the dessert would make the difference. I opted for the Rum Cake. Portion was HUGE, but it was too dry for me, definitively missing Rum dressing.

The bill was quite reasonable. But based on this experience, I would say this restaurant is overrated on TA.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great sea food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

we eat there several times a year when we r in the area. Wonderfull fish selection.Lobster specials are good value. Atmophere what you would expect in a tavern. Nice and reasonable wine selection. Service always good . No fancy preps, just good solid fresh sea food

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve at the Captain's Tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Tuesday night is lobster night at the Captain's Tavern and Christmas Eve was no exception. Good service, great lobsters and continued good quality through the years. Great sushi too. It's my comfort zone and it always feels good there. We bring our own wine and their corking charge is only ten dollars. Go there. Try everything. Yum!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Succulent Seafood & Friendly Atmosphere....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The perfect combination for a magnificent evening....... Looking for a Seafood Restaurant in trip advisor we came across Captain's Tavern after looking at the reviews decided to give it shot. The experience was amazing and we will highly recommended to other couples and friends.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Captain's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.