We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried and true; won't disappoint you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Tavern

Captain's Tavern
9625 S Dixie Hwy, South Miami, FL 33156
(305) 666-5979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tried and true; won't disappoint you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This local seafood restaurant has been open since before 1979. There are many good reasons it has stood the tests of time, multiple recessions, economic downturns, population changes, the onslaught of corporate chains, etc. The food has been consistently good: well-prepared and presented; plentiful portions; reasonable prices; proficient and efficient service staff; wine bargains. We need to preserve individually owned and operated restaurants. This is a gem to be guarded. Take out-of-town guests, transplanted newcomers, returning former residents, children, grandchildren, grandparents and the like to delight in this old style Florida restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“Excellent food excellent waiter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went to Captains Tavern on a Saturday night with a large party to celebrate our parents 55 Wedding Anniversary.

We were seated immediately and throughout our dining experience the waiter was excellent.

Many of us ordered the 2lb lobster that comes with salad and a side for 30.00

Let me tell you. The lobster they give you are 3 lb lobster and they are delicious.

No small lobster here.

The lobster has so much meat that two people could share a meal.

Definitely a excellent deal for 30.00

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not Fancy - but super fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is an old Florida style restaurant. Great wine values. SUper fresh and delicious fish. Best Conch Fritters I have ever had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I took my mother to the Captain's Tavern recently and we had a very pleasant evening. They did not take reservations and we were told that there would be a 20 minute wait when we arrived, so we settled in at the bar. The bartender was incredibly nice and offered excellent suggestions for wine and cocktails. Our 20 minute wait turned into less than 10 minutes and we were duly shown our table by a very pleasant lady.

Our meals were very well prepared and the server was very kind and friendly. He was also quite knowledgeable and offered excellent entree options. When you visit this restaurant, please try the white chocolate creme brulee - delicious!

My only reason for not giving an excellent vote was that we were in a very crowded area. We were jammed pretty close to our neighbors, but it was still pretty comfortable. I will say that I will be back on my next trip to Miami.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value for Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This restaurant was terrific the food, the service and the drinks were great. In all I can only sum up the experience as excellent and highly reecommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Captain's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;