We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food excellent waiter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Tavern

Captain's Tavern
9625 S Dixie Hwy, South Miami, FL 33156
(305) 666-5979
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 57 restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Orlando
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
“Excellent food excellent waiter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went to Captains Tavern on a Saturday night with a large party to celebrate our parents 55 Wedding Anniversary.

We were seated immediately and throughout our dining experience the waiter was excellent.

Many of us ordered the 2lb lobster that comes with salad and a side for 30.00

Let me tell you. The lobster they give you are 3 lb lobster and they are delicious.

No small lobster here.

The lobster has so much meat that two people could share a meal.

Definitely a excellent deal for 30.00

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    15
    12
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not Fancy - but super fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is an old Florida style restaurant. Great wine values. SUper fresh and delicious fish. Best Conch Fritters I have ever had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I took my mother to the Captain's Tavern recently and we had a very pleasant evening. They did not take reservations and we were told that there would be a 20 minute wait when we arrived, so we settled in at the bar. The bartender was incredibly nice and offered excellent suggestions for wine and cocktails. Our 20 minute wait turned into less than 10 minutes and we were duly shown our table by a very pleasant lady.

Our meals were very well prepared and the server was very kind and friendly. He was also quite knowledgeable and offered excellent entree options. When you visit this restaurant, please try the white chocolate creme brulee - delicious!

My only reason for not giving an excellent vote was that we were in a very crowded area. We were jammed pretty close to our neighbors, but it was still pretty comfortable. I will say that I will be back on my next trip to Miami.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value for Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This restaurant was terrific the food, the service and the drinks were great. In all I can only sum up the experience as excellent and highly reecommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ahoy Captain!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The side salad was very good, crisp and the tomatoes was the best I have has in years!! They do not use "hot house" tomatoes but field grown jewels that burst with taste!!

The Oyster plate was divine, very lightly breaded that was not heavy at all. In fact it was almost like the texture of a tempura batter - yummy!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Tavern also viewed

South Miami, FL
South Miami, FL
 

Been to Captain's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Captain's Tavern to your Saves list