We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food excellent waiter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Tavern

Captain's Tavern
9625 S Dixie Hwy, South Miami, FL 33156
(305) 666-5979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
“Excellent food excellent waiter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went to Captains Tavern on a Saturday night with a large party to celebrate our parents 55 Wedding Anniversary.

We were seated immediately and throughout our dining experience the waiter was excellent.

Many of us ordered the 2lb lobster that comes with salad and a side for 30.00

Let me tell you. The lobster they give you are 3 lb lobster and they are delicious.

No small lobster here.

The lobster has so much meat that two people could share a meal.

Definitely a excellent deal for 30.00

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    44
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
“Excellent food excellent waiter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went to Captains Tavern on a Saturday night with a large party to celebrate our parents 55 Wedding Anniversary.

We were seated immediately and throughout our dining experience the waiter was excellent.

Many of us ordered the 2lb lobster that comes with salad and a side for 30.00

Let me tell you. The lobster they give you are 3 lb lobster and they are delicious.

No small lobster here.

The lobster has so much meat that two people could share a meal.

Definitely a excellent deal for 30.00

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Consistent good food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Captain's Tavern has been in business since the early 70's. The decor hasn't changed much since it opened but the chef keeps up with current trends and the food is consistently good, at times excellent. This restaurant often sells a two pound main lobster for $29. with salad and potato. If you're wanting consistent good food, this is the place. The wine list is extensive and prices are very fair. The fish is very fresh and the chef always has wonderful specials. Oh and Thursday night is steak night. Who would think you'd get a fantastic steak at a seafood restaurant. No wonder this place stays in business for so many years. It's one of my favorite places in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not Fancy - but super fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is an old Florida style restaurant. Great wine values. SUper fresh and delicious fish. Best Conch Fritters I have ever had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Recently had dinner at the Captians Tavern and enjoyed it very much. Our previous visit several years ago left quite a bit to be desired as the Hostess was not a very pleasent person and the food was not even average. However, this time we had a very efficient server and the food was quite a bit better. The menu is so varied that it's pretty hard to choose but if you go with the basic's, i.e. Snapper, Dolphin, Shrimp you won't be disappointed. I had the broiled Sea Scallops and they were excellent. The Captains Taveren is most definately the best seafood place in South Dade.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Captain's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.