We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my Favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canton

Canton
6661 S. Dixie Hwy., South Miami, FL 33143
305-666-5511
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 60 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of my Favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I have lived in South Miami for over 18 years, and when I want cantonese food. Canton at 6661 S. Dixie Highway is the best. Good fresh food, nice servers and the owners make my mom and myself feel like family. Great place at affordable prices. Thank you Canton

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas , Venezuela
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice Cantonese food and sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went there twice during our stay in Miami. Very nice Cantonese food. We also had sushi.
The service is very good too. I think the spare ribs and the shrimps with lobster sauce were great as well as their wanton soup. They have Chinese and Japanese beers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Used to like it 12 yrs ago...should have never gone back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I used to live in Miami 12 yrs ago and used to eat at this place quite frequently because it used to be excellent. I came to Miami for a visit and wanted to take my husband to eat one of his favorite foods which is Chinese on our anniversary. Well, the chicken fried rice tasted terrible with pieces of chicken that tasted like they were freezer burned. Then I ordered the Mongolian beef and they gave me this gelatinous pieces of formed beef and it was terrible. It was a sad disappointment and will never go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Weekly Visit 20+ Years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Teddy, the manager for years, Cynthia a waitress, Ming and John waiters - great and always make you feel welcome. Special Wonton soup, lettuce wraps and hot tea our normal - with tip under $20. Special nights we get the Special Canton steak or the honey chicken with special fried rice or any of the 12 combination dinners. They have a sushi but we are not into sushi so i cant comment. They always give great fortune cookies :) enjoy

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Been the best for years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Of all the restaurants of this kind, this has been the most consistently good. Everything from soup to entree is good. They also offer sushi. They have very inexpensive lunch specials.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canton also viewed

 
South Miami, FL
 

Been to Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.