We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Local, French and Great Food!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Pastis

Cafe Pastis
7310 SW 57TH Ave, South Miami, FL 33143-5312
(305) 665-3322
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 56 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, Pizza, Californian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small, Local, French and Great Food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a great little restaurant. It is located in a small community strip mall, has outdoor seating as well as indoor, and is your quintessential cafe. Largely frequented by locals, always full for both lunch and dinner.

The food is always very good, service is great. The owner is French, a pleasant fellow that is there, and personally over sees the restaurant.

The menu is limited, as far as not a million different things, which in my view guarantees that what they cook, they know, and do a great job at it.

Great traditional French cooking with a definitive home made style. Reminds me of the small french village cafes, that are a treat to eat in, and always serve up good local fare.

Last time there I had the French Onion soup to start with, an oldie but goodie. We were a group of 4 and everybody loved their food.

Very accessible prices, with sophisticated french fare..

Enjoy it...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fake French Staff has awful attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Cramped and narrow uncomfortable hole in the wall
Poorly trained staff
Pretends to be French
I am French so I know a fake accent when I hear one
Staff could not respond to menu questions in French or English
Slow service
No atmosphere
Better good a chocolate fashion

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always delicious sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lunch was a treat! Our waitress was super friendly and helpful. Our sandwiches were wonderful. I had the portobello with cheese on a baguette which was very flavorful, accompanied by a fresh green salad. My companion had the snapper sandwich which was very tasty and onion soup which was wonderful. There are many other very appealing menu items that will need to be tried in the future..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Authentic French cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The food is exquisite, very French. Friendly service. Wine list is superb.
The lamb was excellent. The grouper and chicken with couscous were delicious. Large selection of desserts. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great food & service! A standout in an area packed with forgettable restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visited here after work one day with friends -- it is a tiny little place but cozy. Parking is available out front. Good wine list, lots of fish on the menu. The cheese tray was delicious. I expected the desserts to be more decadent for a French restaurant but they were just "ok." Service was prompt and efficient without being pushy. Overall, it was a fun change from regular Miami fare.

Only real complaint is that they have lights hung ABOVE the fans so shadows flicker across diners' faces throughout the meal - it is annoying and distracting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pastis also viewed

 
South Miami, FL
 

Been to Cafe Pastis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Pastis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.